We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Nearby Hotels
$195
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Rafael Hotel(Antigua)
$125
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
$145
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$119
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Encantada(Antigua)
$120
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveler rating
1,108
278
88
32
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
278
88
32
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingochocolate factoryhotel museumbeautiful hotelstar hotelmodern artgrounds are amazingsmall balconyhotel guestsbreakfast buffetevery cornerstandard roombottled watermagical placecentral americaguatemala cityan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The restaurant is very nice too. Each suite has a jacuzzi bath that is seperate from the shower. The staff are very hospitable. They have the best limonada sangria I have ever tried. A little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. I would try to not get one closest to the street since the roads here are coblestone.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with others & hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel Casa Santo Domingo, located in Antigua Guatemala, is a very nice hotel, in a unique location. It is an old monastery, renovated, with a colonial look. The city is paceful, nice, with a mysterious atmosphere. We were with my wife for a wedding in the old church, inside the hotel.
However, our surprise was that in this very expensive hotel there are basic services not included in the fare. For example, it is incredible that wifi connection is not included, and an additional payment of $8 is needed. Lines for having a breakfast may last one hour or more. They do not have an included shuttle for the airport. At he end, the experience was disappointing.

Room Tip: If you want to be only resting, it is a nice place. If you need to stay connected, avoid this place.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Javier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at CSD. As you mention, we do charge a fee for access to internet and the rate is comparable to other hotels in the area but we definitly appreciate your observation and will look into the matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent time trying to figure out why this wasn't considered a 5 star hotel...never found out. Everything was incredible.
Food, staff, location, cleanliness, and hospitality everywhere!
Loved the zipline!!!
I travel a lot, and this is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Just...wow..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Appletot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for such a nice review of Casa Santo Domingo. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our food, location, cleanliness, hospitality and our recently opened zipline. We will have new attractions soon, let us know if you want to receive info. so we can keep you posted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel retains it's past and combines the results of a long past earthquake with the very modern comfort and technology.
The grounds are just beautiful, quiet and peaceful. The rooms are
well appointed, dining is very good and the service is just excellent There are about 300
employees who are always polite and at your service. The pool area delighted my grandchild,
especially the Macaws.
We were able to walk around Antigua, one day visiting churches prepared for Easter and
one day learning how to make chocolate candy! We could have stayed longer than three
nights. It was a pleasure and we hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anemarie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your comment. As you probably know, Easter season is very busy in La Antigua. We are glad to know that you & your grandchild liked our grounds, the room, pool area and hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had the privilege of staying at the Casa Santo Domingo for several days during Holy Week. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. Considering that the building and grounds are a museum in addition to being a very busy hotel it would have been easy for guests to feel neglected but this was definitely not the case. The on-site restaurant is excellent as is the restaurant on the hill. The rooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. Coffee in the rooms is Guatemalan and very good!!! The staff produced beautiful street carpets for the processions that passed in front of the hotel. Small "carpets" adorned the hotel entrance walkway and were changed several times during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance way might be noisy. We were in a back corner and never experienced any noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtm221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our F&B services at both restaurants and our local coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews