We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casa Santo Domingo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“casa Santo Domingo”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very amazing place, 5 or museums, great restaurants, excellent service. When you pull up in the taxi or van you wonder what is this place as it looks like a hole in the wall until you walk through the door and you are transformed in a different world. A world of art, beautiful wood, candles, excellent service. Great rooms. Built on the site of the old convent they have mixed the old with the new to Creat a wonderful experience. Definitely not a moderate priced but a great place.

Room Tip: Standard and superior. Standard are very nice but superior are roomer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanArctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know you had such a wonderful expecience and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    229
    73
    24
    31
See reviews for
232
416
67
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It's difficult to describe the feeling I had when I stayed at this hotel, I was overwhelmed by it's beauty. It's built on the site of the ruins of a convent. They carefully preserved the ancient walls and structures giving the guest a chance to explore the property. It feels as though you are living in a museum while you are there. The hotel portion is very comfortable with gorgeous gardens and wonderful restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to know you had such a wonderful experience and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern BC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is the closest I will ever get to a convent I am sure. Was amazing the walls were almost speaking with all that history and candles glowing. My first choice is always the beach, my daughter and I missed our flight from Canada to Belize so flew into Guatemala City thinking it would be easy to get to Belize, it wasn't so decided to check out Guatemala for a few days :) Very memorable hotel this was and would recommend to anyone. Enjoyed amazing views from up on a hill, road around the city in tuktuk feeding dogs bread they all looked on deaths door.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful suite but I never saw any others :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are glad to know you enjoyed your visit to La Antigua Guatemala and your stay at CSD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This was my 8th stay at the Casa Santo Domingo since 2005 and the word that comes to mind every time I walk beyond the entry wall is magical. The ambiance and history of this property is as well suited for a grand wedding as a romantic getaway. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and authentic...the dinner menu refined. I would recommend this hotel without reservation for American travelers...the town of Antigua is wonderfully walkable with great Spanish schools, restaurants, and shopping. Hugo Suarez, owner of Expeditions Guatemala, offers amazing trips throughout this beautiful country from this area. This is an unforgettable destination!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rvdh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations. We are glad to know that you had such a special experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel can not be described in words, they can't do it justice, either can pictures.
This was my 5th time staying there.
You feel a peace as soon as you walk in the door . The grounds are so well kept and the ruins are another interesting part of the property.
Even if you don't stay here please visit this awesome hotel on your visit to Antigua.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. If you plan to visit La Antigua again, pls contact me at: igomez@casasantodomingo.com.gt to personally make your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This property is simply stunning, the moment you step inside the main doors and off the busy street, you instantly feel a sense of serenity. The hotel is a perfect blend of old ruins and modern day comfort. The room had a really great ambiance although I would have liked the option to have a bit more light and preferred a tile floor to the thin wall-to-wall that was there. Our room was on the second floor and had a wonderful little balcony with a small table and chair and was surprisingly quiet for being just above the walls on 1a Avenida Sur. The grounds were really the best part with free access to the museum, ruins and colorful parrots in the courtyard! Relaxing by the pool and taking a dip in the hot tub made our day complete! Most of the staff we interacted with were very pleasant and will to help in any way. One late evening, after returning from dinner and not finding a pharmacy on the way, one of the younger guys at the front desk went as far as calling the 24 pharmacy and having our item delivered! Truly excellent service! It was also the first place that we had really hot water since we arrived...unfortunately the downside of the shower was the ceiling was really low (I'm 5'10" and the ceiling was just a few inches higher) and the shower head was pointing at my neck. I'm rating the property only 4 stars (I'd like to give 4.5 but can't) because as with most expensive places the more you pay, the more you have to pay for extras. This hotel did not provide free wi-fi as nearly all the other hotels we stayed at did, and even in the town, you could go to any little cafe and get free wi-fi. Free water was only provided in the afternoons near the front desk which was rather disappointing. At checkout, I was told that since we had booked through a tour company and used a "voucher", I could not have a copy of the bill showing a zero balance (we had several room charges which we paid at checkout but could not get a copy of the overall bill and zero balance). This made me quite uncomfortable because if any mistake was to occur, I didn't have proof that I had paid the complete bill at checkout. I wouldn't let these nuances discourage others from staying, the property and staff are well worth it, it's just good to know and be prepared!

Room Tip: it's probably not a good idea to face the pool because the walls are super thin and the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a nice review and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Since you confirmed your reservation through a travel agency, they should have given you the correspondent invoice and this is why we only provided invoice for consumptions & x-tras. If you have further questions, pls dont hesitate to contact me at igomez@casasantodomingo.com.gt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Casa Santo Domingo deserves every bit of praise it has received from TripAdvisor contributors. We stayed four nights the first week of January, splurging on one of the best suites. The room was split level, with a sofa, chair and coffee table on one level and the king-bed area four steps up, with a generously sized bathroom with good counter space yet another step up. The bed and all the furniture were comfortable. We had two patios wth a table and chairs on both and a shallow hot tub on one. We even had a burbling little fountain in the room putting out its soothing sound.
We experienced a little bit of slow service at breakfast the first morning but the rest of the time the service was just fine. The breakfast buffet wasn't inexpensive but was worth it. What makes the place so special are the spectacular grounds of the former monastery, including museums of artifacts found during construction, a chocolate shop, an area where local artisans sell their wares, a large chapel and acres of quiet patio with more fountains. Undiscovered until the last day was an underground block of retail shops and a business center.
Antigua is a great destination, a place with a stunning colonial past that feels safe and welcoming. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit to La Antigua and to Casa Santo Domingo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing