We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this hotel for dinner on many occasions and stayed at the hotel many times. The hotel is set in a converted old monetary. The rooms are very comfortable. Walking around the hotel pathways at night are quite enchanting and magical, as they are only illuminated by candlelight! Just a short walk along the ancient streets to the central market area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know that you are a returning customer and that you enjoy our services. Please contact us directly the next time you plan to visit our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    229
    73
    24
    31
See reviews for
232
417
67
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2013 Nd absolutely loved the place. The grounds are amazing, the rooms are very nice by Central American standards, and the food in the restaurant was very good. The location was close to everything and the hilltop brunch place and zip lining was awesome.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Klecapit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at CSD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After reading the overall positive recommendations from other reviewers, my husband and I made reservations for a Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub-European Plan through Expedia. We enjoyed the room and the upgrade for the jetted tub was well worth the additional price.

This was our first trip to Central America and outside a structured tourist resort-like environment, so we were extra cautious when making all our travel arrangements. Prior to our trip, I setup our airport transportation through the concierge via email. Our flight arrived in Guatemala City between the hotel's shuttle times, and we didn't want to wait a couple of hours for the next shuttle, so I arranged for private transportation ($60 for 2 people). I believe you can get a taxi at the airport for a cheaper rate, but I just felt more comfortable going through the hotel. Anyway, it was nice to see our driver standing outside the airport holding a sign with my name on it. One thing to note is that CSD is about a 35-45 min trip WITHOUT traffic. Our flight arrived on a rainy Saturday afternoon, so it took between 1.5 - 2 hours to get to the hotel. We also went through the hotel for private transportation to get back to the airport. We left at 5:00 a.m., and it only took 35 min to get to the airport.

The hotel uses Macaw tours for guided tours, but I didn't book any tours with them because I couldn't find any reviews on this company and found many positive reviews on other companies. Macaw e-mailed me prices on a couple of tours, which were about $20 more per person than the companies I used.

As stated in other reviews, this hotel is beautiful and incredibly unique. We enjoyed exploring the hotel/museum grounds. It's a few blocks down (about a 10 min walk) from the major tourist streets, so it's removed from the noisier part of Antigua. We walked down the street the hotel is on during the day and night and felt safe. The hotel staff was always helpful and courteous. It definitely helps to know some Spanish, but there are employees that speak English.

Our room was very cute! It had a fireplace, where you could build a fire. Also, marshmallows were in our lobby if we wanted to roast them. Our room didn't have a view, but it had a covered private patio with a hot tub. The hot tub upgrade was well worth it. We booked a tour almost every day on our trip, and it was nice to come back to the hotel and soak in the hot tub.

We ate at the hotel's restaurant a couple of times--once for dinner and once for breakfast. The staff was courteous and the food was just ok. It was overpriced like most hotels. We also ordered room service a couple of nights. The room service arrived on time and the meals were ok.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again upon a return to Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyEars11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We shared your observations with Macaw Tours in order to improve their services. Pls contact us directly on your next visit to take care of your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everywhere you look, you find a beautiful view in this hotel that used to be a monastery. Clean and very friendly! One tip.....if you need to use internet, go to the next door restaurant food is good there by the way. Internet in the hotel never worked!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment and observations. We hope you return in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

On the firts week of december my mom and i stayed in this hotel. we didn't know where to head our sights and point out as there were so many interesting, cultural, beautiful things to see, only within the hotel, that we couldn't believe it... frankly i had big expectation on this place, and i'm often considered a difficoult client - i complain when i don't like something - and i admit that this place was outstanding. Everything is great: the care of the workers that make this beautiful surrounding a great experience; the place itself, and old monastery that still mantein its structure, the altar and the statues, the furniture, all the flowers everywhere. it's linked to another place, el cerro de Santo Domingo, another beautiful Project on the mountain (10min by car) where you can play canopy and have a nice dinner just next to the Vulcano de agua and vulcano de fuego. The place emploies 300 workers and 500 if tehre's an event. I didn't see anyone not looking sober or uncaring the place, probably because this hotel draws a cooperative Project and takes care of its community. Great job!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrisisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We appreciate very much the time you took to write your review and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our services during your stay. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is an experience, not only a hotel. It is a Museum Hotel, which means you are inside a museum and in a hotel. Everything is incredibly beaultiful. The room is big, thematic, very well decorated and everything works very well. The bathroom is big, the shower is very relaxinh and the amenities are there, much more than one can expect.
There is a special care with cleanliness and with the neat. I strongly recommend. Also near of everything, just 3 blocks from the main point of downtown.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the view to the internal park with balkon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandreCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing CSD to stay while visiting La Antigua Guatemala. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A great way to visit the country and give back at the same time. Literacy rates need to grow in Guatemala and through GiveGetGo, I was able to enjoy touring the beautiful and safe city of Antigua and help build another classroom for the rural Melody School. Principal Igor Xoyon is giving back, helping the children regain their Mayan language. Some children can afford to attend while others are sponsored. 20 Canadians worked as a team, learning how to make rebar, mix cement and lay cinder blocks with direction from the local site manager. There was a chance to interact with the children, lunch and learns on tamale making and weaving and time off for hiking the volcano, zip-lining above the forests and visiting the colourful markets. We ate well at Fusion, Cinq and at the spectacular Santo Domingo! Fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Most rooms have little balconies, all appear to have wood burning fireplaces. Wander the pathways of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing