We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fabulous deal for a swank hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“a fabulous deal for a swank hotel!”
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Hotel Casa Santo Domingo was fabulous!! I don't know why the reviews are not so good, maybe they are folks who are used to different things. The gardens, the museums, the staff and the room I had were all lovely. The pool was heated and the hot tubs (jacuzzis) were nice. I had a view of a lovely garden from my balcony and the bed/linens were great! The bathroom had an amazing sinking/soaking tub which was fabulous!!!!!!!! And, I only had a standard room! I did go in high season and did only stay for 1 night, but it was so worth every penny ($200)!!! I booked it directly by calling them as the online reservation request didn't seem to get addressed immediately. Once my reservation was in the system, though, the email worked just fine. They have a business center that will change your traveler's checks even though the hotel does not accept them. Room service was prompt for my breakfast and my room was clean upon my arrival. I can't complain about anything! The place is so breathtakingly beautiful and enchanting, you just can't go wrong if you're looking for little luxury while out in the rough for a while.

  • Liked — just a slice of heaven, a respite from everything, the hot water!
  • Disliked — the price, but it was still a bargain!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lasfloras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    233
    76
    24
    32
See reviews for
242
420
68
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We loved this hotel. The grounds are extremely beautiful and peaceful. The food was delicious, the service great. Everyone was very friendly and worked hard to make us feel comfortable. The only issue we had was that we felt the concierge could have been a bit more knowledgeable. We definitely felt safe, and I would think the security guys with the walkie talkies would make others feel even safer! If there was any watching over, we felt it was for our benefit. Remember that Guatemala is a lesser developed country, and some level of discomfort is not going to be avoided. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The grounds, food, and service
  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotthetravelinbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I stayed her for two nights and thought it was a lovely hotel. There is a lot of security, buts its for our safety, and I found that as long as I was polite to the staff, they were polite and helpful in return. The room I felt was average, but comfortable and very clean. The pool was a nice little surprise and always guarded, I liked that it was heated in the evening and I lived for that sauna after walking around all day. The grounds are spectacular, thats all there is to it. the only problem I has was that it was so far from the main square and really far from the market. But for that extra bit of privacy, and all the space I guess its worth it.

  • Liked — I loved the grounds.
  • Disliked — Distance from main square.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lynbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

If the Casa Santo Domingo were a three or even four-star hotel, my rating would have been considerably higher. However, five-star hotels imply excellence in areas where the CSD does not deliver the goods. We stayed here for over a week, so everything noted below happened on a consistent basis.

Positive:
1. Beautiful setting within monastery walls, replete with flora and fauna, parrots and lovely patio areas off each block of rooms. Nighttime is over the top: staff lights hundreds of candles; upon returning to our room, the 17th century statue outside was lit was a long taper candle.
2. Good pool area and adequate exercise room with vigilant attendants, ample towels, and water cooler.
3. Good restaurant and – surprise! – good food for a hotel. The $14 breakfast buffet is a treat, and most of the entrées are delicious.
4. Prompt room service: Except for one night when we waited 50 minutes for a perfunctory delivery of club sandwiches, room service was prompt and accurate in delivering our requests.
5. Rooms: Generally good, but see below. The best part was the wood-burning fireplace and small balcony.
6. Security: Other posters complain about the guys in suits and walkie-talkies who roam the hotel. Be glad they are there; they are a main reason that you can leave your laptop in full view in your room when you go shopping for the day. They are discreet as possible in Guatemala and make this hotel a lot more secure than some others.

Negatives:
1. Check-in:
We waited 25 minutes on line to check in with just one party ahead of us. Management knew that people were waiting it did a lot of scurrying around, but nothing that was aimed at getting guests registered and tucked into their rooms. Having stayed at the Red Roof Inn, the Ritz and everything in between, all I can say is that Bill Marriott would be appalled.
Second, after 25 minutes of waiting, I finally asked an employee to check us in. His sole concern appeared to be getting my credit card to swipe accurately. He gave us one key and called over a bellboy. He did not explain location of the room, amenities, or offer a second key. We were left to discover the exercise room, morning newspapers, and afternoon tea on our own.
2. Rooms: Our room was okay but not 5-star by any stretch. Lighting was dim in the bedroom; carpeting was worn; and the television set – a 20-inch model – had faulty volume control. The maids cleaned but never vacuumed; when one of the 20-watt bulbs went out in the bathroom, it was never replaced.
3. Hotel Amenities: As noted above, we were on our own. The hotel would do well to advertise its own freebies such as free morning newspaper and free afternoon tea, and the location of the ice machine all of which we discovered by chance.
4. Wi-Fi: The CSD’s wireless Internet service is erratic at best and at $15 per day gets a thumbs-down. We pre-paid for a week of service and on two days we had to have maintenance men come to the room to re-set it. They finally told me that standard rooms have Ethernet, not wireless connections, and this was part of the problem.
5. Hidden Charges: Our itemized bill included a Q7.65 daily charge for “Mosaico Cultural.” I was told it was “optional” and that it constituted a voluntary contribution to the CSD’s patronage of Antigua’s cultural patrimony. It was a pittance and we paid it, but know that this is routinely charged to your bill unless you specifically request its removal. While I am happy to help keep Antigua beautiful, this is tantamount to the Safeway cashier unilaterally adding a dollar to your supermarket bill for her favorite non-profit (not to mention the fact that you are inadvertently lowering the CSD’s taxes, since Guatemalan businesses receive a tax break for funding non-profit foundations. Although this added up to a grand total of eight dollars, it was the assumption rather than the money that proved irksome.
6. The CSD’s Identity Crisis: The CSD is a wedding caterer pretending also to be a hotel. It is clear that their profit stream largely derives not from the individual guests but from the wedding held on its grounds, which run 24/7 from Thursday through Sunday. What this means is that you feel like an interloper in the hotel where you’re paying good money to stay. The wedding guests (sorry, guests) are often noisy, drunk and oblivious to the fact that it’s 2 am and you’re trying to sleep. Surprisingly, the walls at this place are also paper-thin. One night we were treated to a two-hour running monologue of what the guests had done before and after the wedding. Good hotels learn how to handle individual guests and wedding parties; some do this very well, and the CSD should take a page from them. Otherwise, individual guests are getting the short end of the stick.

Net-net: The CSD has the potential to be a fine hotel. With the exception of its snooty reception staff, employees work hard to make guests happy. However, the CSD should train its employees to think and act pro-actively. Our most salient impression of this hotel was that its staff is well-trained to perform specific tasks but they are completely at a loss to take the initiative and perform that one extra little service, such as emptying a full ashtray, lending a hand at check-in, or offering a drink five minutes after pool closing time. In addition, the very best hotels manage to convey the impression that their sole mission is to make you happy. Unfortunately, the impression we received from the CSD was that its sole mission is to make money.

  • Liked — The surroundings.
  • Disliked — Reception.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jean-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

I attended an international medical conference along with my wife and our 2 teenage children. The hotel grounds are serene and beautiful. The staff have no concept whatsoever of North American service. No one speaks English. We had the misfortune of needing the concierge's help to track down our lost luggage. They never came through.
You are constantly being watched by the hotel workers who stand around with walkie-talkies. Unfortunately, we were falsely accused of making a crack in the plastic casing of an elliptical exercise machine. Their fitness room has 2 treadmills and 1 elliptical. They wanted us to pay for damages. They came up with a figure and then wanted to haggle over payment just like you would in the local market. Their claim was bogus and it was unjustifiable. For them it presented an opportunity to extort money. We were targeted and harassed by the staff/guards who stood around in the courtyard outside our room and monitored our every move. It was an intimidation tactic. My wife felt scared to go out of the room. This sort of thing should not happen in a so called 5 star hotel. It didn't seem to matter to them that the hotel's reputation may be damaged. My medical society lodged a formal complaint with the hotel. I have yet to hear. It may be a nice hotel but the hotel people mentality is corrupt and third world. We were glad to leave.

  • Liked — Hotel grounds, layout and decor
  • Disliked — Hotel staff and service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank RH_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Manager at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
We regretted having to make this charge but, as you might remember, we proceeded after carefully looking at the security video and confirming your kids responsibility. Also, the charge made corresponds only to the cost of the damaged piece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

I just returned from a 4 night stay at the hotel. The grounds are beautiful. The hotel is very tranquil and peaceful. The property is very large with several museums so be prepared to walk. The standard room was large. The bathroom was also large. The sleeping rooms are not air conditioned so be prepared to sleep with the window open. The restaurant was excellent. The service was very good. The staff speaks a little english. I would give it at 4 due to no air conditioning in the sleeping rooms.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — No air conditioning in the sleeping rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PammieTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

After we saw the pretty grounds, we encountered poor service, incompetence at the concierge and main desk. But far worse, we feared for our safety and were somewhat intimidated by the secutity guards with walkie-talkie all over the grounds, litterally watching your every move. Who ever gave 5 star to this hotel was sorely mistaken. We were relieved to leave.

  • Liked — Lovely grounds
  • Disliked — Unsafe, no service, harrasment by hotel staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahToronto_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
868 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing