We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
alpharetta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical place”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

WOW! What an amazing experience. The grounds were like walking into a dream. I have never experienced a hotel with so much ambience as this one and I have been to a lot of top notch hotels. If you are looking for a romantic spot this is it. The stonework, art, candles, rose petals, music...pictures don't do it justice. We stayed in a beautiful suite with a fireplace and a hot tub. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. One word of advice and the only negative about this hotel- you may want to request a quiet room. Our first suite shared a wall with a nightclub next door so we heard Latin music until around midnight and we are early to bed people. The hotel was very accommodating in putting us in another beautiful suite and sent a lovely plate of fruit for our troubles...unfortunately the second suite was near the service entrance so we awoke to some banging, etc starting at about 4AM...I guess it wasn't in the cards for us to get good sleep this trip but we sure enjoyed falling asleep with the beautiful wood burning fireplace flickering.
If you go to the spa- FABULOUS!! Ask for Paola- it was the best massage I have ever had- totally relaxing- well worth the money
The food in the hotel- always wonderful- we enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the mornings and had a wonderful dinner at the hotel's restaurant on top of the mountain- what a view.
Thank you for a wonderful trip and next time I will make sure to get one of the "quiet rooms"! We will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a quiet room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krhoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and will take immediate action. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the service provided at the SPA and the food of our restaurants. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    235
    77
    24
    32
See reviews for
243
422
68
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent the first three nights of our Guatemala trip in Casa Santo Domingo. We were spoilt. We had an absolutely gorgeous room with two little balconies, a fireplace and gorgeous rustic furniture as well as a super lux bathroom with a jacuzzi. The hotel is very well located for all the beautiful sites Antigua and the surrounding vulcanos have to offer. The inlusive breakfast is tasty and abundant and we had a beautiful meal on our last evening at the hotel. Checking in and out was easy and seamless. Really treasure your stay at Casa Domingo as the deeper you venture into the countryside standards drop a touch! I also reall loved the museums, although having skeletons in your hotel garden is a little spooky :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing CSD to stay while visiting La Antigua Guatemala. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

All the positive reviews are 100% accurate and spot on. Service is off the charts. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. The old colonional feeling is very present. World class hotel without a doubt. The town as a whole is breath taking and rich in history.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jesco74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to know that you found everything to your liking and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was there on a week-long business meeting. The place is beautiful and peaceful. The staff is very helpful and nice. The food was very good, however the restaurant service was very slow.....they did make a mistake in our orders and I ended up waiting a long time and not eating what I really wanted (they did offer to correct the order, but I did not want to wait)

The rooms are beautiful, with lots of art inside and around.....some may be a bit creapy!

The music you hear in the background all over the hotel is beautiful, but after 3-4 days it gets old and even annoying!

The bar closed at 11:30pm (???!!!) Missed opportunity for high margin revenue!

Overall, a great place with great service!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fsucre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed. Historical full of charm. Highly recommended. Food, service, staff are TOP quality. Room was huge and so beautifully decorated. The music playing throughout the hotel, so calm and relaxing. So easy to get to anywhere in Antigua from this hotel as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments and the time you spent to share them. We are very glad to know you had a nice experience and hope you choose CSD to stay on your next visit to La Antigua Guatemala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at in many ways. The attention to detail in this place is amazing. Guatemalans are known for their hospitality and when you combine that with a beautiful hotel you have perfection. Sadly I only stated there two nights and did not have enough time to enjoy all the amenities. The room was very clean, the toiletries well stocked, nothing was missing. I enjoyed the fireplace the most. The hotel is kind of like something out of Disney world, some things you don't even believe are real. I was really impressed and will definitely go back. I usually don't repeat hotels but this one is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarArly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
“Attention to Detail” is one of our standards - thank you for such a nice review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This historical hotel sits in the heart of Antigua, Guatemala. It is full of history and luxury. My jr. suite is magnificent. The food is unbelievable. The service is impeccable. A little pricey but well worth every cent spent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your Suite, the food of “El Refectorio” and most of all, our service. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing