We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi, My wife and i booked this Hotel through Expedia.com and they had a deal going where we would get breakfast included in our stay. We decided to book a pretty nice room then; to our surprise when we got to the Hotel two different receptionists told my wife that breakfast was not included. We felt cheated on for our money. This ruined our whole stay. We told them to verify several times but to our disadvantage they kept saying that they had nothing in their system.
When we were checking out i asked to see the manager and after a while of waiting the manager came out; She looked at the File and told me that breakfast was included in our stay and how come i hadn't taken it. i laught and explained to her what had happened, she then proceded to give me a $10 refund! what a joke, she sent us to the bar to drink some soup and drinks. All of us where super upset. never going back to this hotel. They only care about their money and not customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micosypericos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Please accept our most sincere apologies with the service delivered at the Front Desk during your stay; please be sure that we will correct our systems to prevent these problems from occurring again. We hope to have the opportunity of serving you during your next trip to La Antigua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    234
    76
    24
    32
See reviews for
242
421
68
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Casa Santo Domingo comes close to perfection without quite getting there. It would be easier to list the areas that are lacking and let yo u assume that everything else is faultless. The internet access is not only expensive but also very weak and intermittent. The bathrooms are somewhat standard which clashes with the luxury of the hotel and the room in general. Everything else is truly delightful. The hotel restaurant serves pricey but imaginative food. The museum on the hotel grounds is fascinating. The pool is unremarkable but heated. The steam rooms are ready and barely crowded. There are beautiful touches all over the hotel: antiques, artwork, rose petals... The location is an easy walking distance from the central plaza.

Room Tip: The luxury is in the hotel itself. Chose a moderately priced room and spend your time in the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here one night on a business unit and was immediately transported into a peaceful, serene, and tranquil setting. Absolutely beautiful property complete with old-world culture and ambiance. A must-stay for anyone in the Antigua area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birkel_lindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Checking in to this hotel is like taking a trip back to the time the conquistadores first walked this land... even if you don't stay at this hotel do visit the hotel grounds, it's a feast for the eyes. The room was a fantastic blend of modern comfort and history. This is the 2nd time I stay at this hotel and it's looking better than ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdekoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is almost one museum. You can see the history of Antigua in the ruins that you can find inside of it. The hotel is very beautiful with Araras everywhere, ruins, flowers, fountains and pools. The restaurant is awesome and the dishes are perfect. They are under construction and restore work in some parts of the hotel, but it's fine. You'll even notice it. The location is good and you won't regret of staying there. Amazing place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel - beautiful room, STUNNING grounds, hospitable staff. This was one of the best hotel experiences of my life!

The candles, the macaws by the beautiful heated pool, the landscaping, the historic structure of the building, the on-site museum - the combination makes for a perfect hotel experience.

I've read some reviews which note the tour groups which come to the hotel. The tour groups come for a reason - this is the premier property in the city and all of Guatemala. During my stay, the tour groups were never near the guestrooms, the pool, or any private guest areas. I noted a few groups coming in for brief periods during my stay but I never felt crowded. Actually, I found it impressive that non-guests made a point to visit the hotel and I had the full experience of staying here.

I will remember Casa Santo Domingo for many years.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxury1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the begining of December 2012, and all we have to say is We'll do it all over again soon!!! This hotel is abosoluitely worth it to spend that extra $25 a night instead of staying at any other hotel that may be cheaper but won't have that history, courteous staff and magnificent grounds that make you go ahhh, every time you take a stroll around them.
We most definitely recomend it to anyone who goes to such magestic city to definitely stay at one of a kind place.
The food is absolutely outstanding, the chef really shows his culinary talents on every dish he prepares.
And if you don't want to be on a schedule when visitng Antigua and stay at this magnificent hotel, just make yourself a cup of the most delicious Guatemalan coffee, which is there for you to make whenever you are in the mood for it, and take a seat at your own bistro table, on your own balcony and just kick back and relax.
At night, if you are in Antigua in the cooler months, like December or January, and you are in the mood for just having a room service dinner and enjoying the fire place, just place a call to the front desk and they will have one of their staff people to lit up that fire for you and make sure it is all set for your enjoyment.
So, go visit Antigua Guatemala, enjoy the beauty of the country and all it has to offer, and make sure you stay at Casa Santo Domingo, you won't regret it!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the Spa area, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing