We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a two nite stay here January 2013. The grounds and the museum facility are very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room photos on this site are quite representative. The facility is very pleasant and has good views inside and outside. The restaurant is quite good both the buffet breakfast and the menu items. The unique nature of the facility makes this hotel an exceedingly appealing facility to stay in Antigua. We'd definitely return if in Antigua again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    210
    64
    20
    30
See reviews for
199
363
63
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Casa Santa Domindo, you should be ashamed of yourselves! I literally was in tears looking at their macaws. They are stressed out and the birds have been pulling their feathers out because they are going crazy! It is such a disgrace that Casa Santa Domingo would keep these birds on show for tourists and everyone in oblivious to their torture! Please do the humane thing and give these birds to a sanctuary so they can live the rest of their lives more naturally. Copan, Honduras has a great Macaw sanctuary and they would be happy to care for these beautiful birds, since you obviously can't!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your concern for our macaws. We appreciate your comment and share your opinion. We are doing everything possible to provide a stress free environment for these birds and are currently developing a breeding project in large aviaries in an isolated, more natural environment.

Our macaws are very well fed (dosed, balanced diet) and have constant professional veterinary attention. Some of our macaws are very old and have difficulty regenerating over-preened feathers. We are looking forward to transfer them to new facilities where they will surely get better.

We are also pleased to inform you that we are currently supporting an ex-situ conservation program at the Wildlife Department - Veterinary Faculty of the Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala and, in a near future, we will support the only in-situ conservation program in the city directed by the Wildlife Conservation Society at “Estación Guacamayas, Parque Nacional Laguna del Tigre, Petén.” There are only about 320 free living macaws in Guatemala and we definitely consider this species a priority.

In a near future, we will gladly share some of our achievements with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Only stayed one night but it was a very nice stay. Highlight was a traditional dinner in the restarant. The grounds are very well maintained and add a nice ambiance with candlelight all over the hotel at night. It was quite expensive to stay, eat and drink here. There are some very nice places in town that are worth walking to. Internet $10 in your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celmo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

we got a deal through expedia and hence selected this place. It's a 16th century monastery that has been restored/renovated and done really well. the premises are a fantastic museum and offer lot of things to see and walk around... museums, statues, crypts etc and the level of access available is also impressive
The rooms are really nice, they have a TV, very good mattresses and a seriously good shower.
The reason for the 3 (not 5) * - 3 fold - the internet is $8/day, with the daily rates being charged they should be including the internet... and secondly the front desk staff is quite useless, they are courteous and all but useless when you ask them questions about Antigua, things to do around Antigua etc. and finally the food (no free breakfast, we did order some room service though) - horrible and expensive.
The gym and the pool are really nice

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murlirao2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great accommodations and an incredible hotel, filled with history and art work. Great location in a wonderful destination. Antigua is a great destination by itself with many attractions and day trips that can be taken.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel certainly is unusual in many respects. The ruins are worth the stay. Ambiance is a big appeal. Very pretty grounds. The foliage is beautiful. The room is average but nice. The only thing that was bad was the smell at night; sewage. There was also some difficulty with billing on room & services. Still not sure was charged correct. Get ready for a big tourist charge at c/o. Overall a very unique place. Also I might add, the rooms are very dimly lit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We revisited casa santo domingo 3 weeks ago and found it was as delightful as we remembered it. We upgraded to one of the "estancea" rooms and it was much bigger than the room we had last time. It was room estancea los novisios. Novicios was a large suite with fireplace, sauna, and jacuzzi, and a wonderful view of the volcano. Everything was fine EXCEPT at night the resturant across the way had a very large spotlight aimed directly into our room, it was so bright we had to keep the blackout curtains closed. They used it to light up there parking lot. We asked several times during our 3 day stay to have it reaimed or removted but to no avail. Oher than that it was a delightful stay with great food and charm. The several museums on the grounds were very intereting, and at night the candels were very nice and were everywhere,creating a romantic feel of yesteryear. The hotel was built on the ruins of a very old monastery and the owners have kept the feel. There are wonderful pieces of art on the grounds and in some of the rooms. The many macaws also added to the ambiance. It is near downtown so a cab is not needed to access the main square and shopping.

Room Tip: check what is going on around the room you pick, ask about any renovation or construction going on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
14.1 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
14.6 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#4 of 80 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#22 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
14.5 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#11 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing