We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romance, History, Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Romance, History, Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Built on the ruins of an old monastery, this hotel is beautiful and unique. It evokes the colonial period of Spain's occupation of Guatemala. The hotel is safe and the grounds are exquisite. Everything about the service is first-rate. In my three-day stay I only managed one complaint: they charge for Internet wi-fi service. When I am paying $200 a night for the room, I think they can provide free wi-fi. But honestly, this is a fantastic place to stay. If you are going to Antigua you need to spend some time at this hotel. Other reviews here extoll its virtues, and they are correct. It is a beautiful hotel, beautifully operated. Stay here and be enchanted!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosfrijoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    224
    68
    24
    31
See reviews for
214
395
66
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Although it was a business trip, my 4 days at Hotel Casa SAnto Domingo where just amazing. There is nothing that would really describe the uniqueness of the place until you are there. Great rooms, huge bathrooms, and just an overall experience.
During the nights is when the real magic comes into place, all the candlelights around the hotel, the nature comes together with the hotel areas.
Coming from a caribbean place, having the chimney in the restaurant running during the nights, with the great "asados" (beef mainly grill style but with their special flavor)... it was great.
Walk around the hotel, visit the museums and definitely if you are considering a wedding... ahhh!!! it should really be a lovely place to get married!

Room Tip: ASk for the back rooms, the ones in front can be a little noisy from the all the traffic in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I'm happy to add my voice to the chorus of positive reviews for the Casa Santo Domingo. It is a magical place in a magical town. I had eaten at the restaurant on previous trips but this was the first time I stayed at the hotel and I was not at all disappointed. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a fireplace and tasteful decorations. Just outside the door were candles and statuary. The grounds are museum-like and the tubs of water with rose petals are a luxurious touch. There was a wedding taking place on the property while we were there so there were hundreds of candles lit for the occasion--beautiful. Be sure to do the Sunday brunch if possible. The price for the hotel is more than reasonable by US standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I travel frequently for work and find myself in all sorts of hotels of varying quality and construction.

Casa Santo Domingo might be my all time favourite.

Built on the ruins of a monestary, the hotel evokes the colonial capital that Antigua was. The museums on site add to the magic.

The rooms are simple, big and clean.

The food is good.

And the staff is wonderful.

I hope I have a chance to get back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank magpie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Been meaning to write this review for a while. On reflection this hotel stands out as a truely unique experience. Taking into account the fact that the hotel is modeled/built around the ruins of monastery the quality and atmosphere achieved is a one off. The rooms are spacious / antique but with the right touch of modernitiy. Features like the flower petals in the old water troughs and other classy touches just added to the experience.
The museum section featuring Mayan artifacts alongside modern glass artworks made for a fascinating couple of hours. If you get the chance to stay in this unique hotel take it with both hands

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gar55_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

When you get in it doesn't look like a hotel at all. The old monastery and the birds give a hole different ambience to the place.
Staff is very helpful and the decoration takes you to the colonial era.
Rooms are huge but mine didn't have air conditioning.
The restaurant is really good with great food.
It has four museums

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mogway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've been to Guate many times and tried to stay at a different place each time in Antigua for variety. CSD was always high on my list because of the restaurant, which is absolutely fantastic, 5 star cuisine and service.

The rooms are nice; ours was certainly large enough for 2 and nicely appointed. But while the grounds are gorgeous, the hotel itself is overpriced for what you get. For less money we stayed at at the Porto which has a great pool, lovely grounds and excellent service. If you just want a nice place to stay at a lower price, try the Porto and eat one night here.

Location is a little isolated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing