We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveler rating
795
281
44
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
795
281
44
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground tunnel caravan tour breakfast buffet large pool beautiful hotel main building beautiful grounds ceiling fan high ceilings great pool filtered water few blocks central park comfortable rooms lap spa fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

A very elegant hotel, with a great bar and restaurant. A little corporate--it's big! We were here with a group of two Dozen, and there was plenty of room for more. Staff is very attentive and friendly.

We had room #311, with backed against the road. Cars going by at night could make it sound like being next to a train--so if that kind of noise is a problem, seek a different location. Otherwise, quite a nice hotel.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank jaz79h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Guest
We appreciate very much your review regarding your stay with us.
We are so glad that overall your stay at one of our Deluxe Garden gooms was good and comfortable, thank you so much for your recommendation to the traveller community.
We hope that you visit us again very soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We spent six nights here over Christmas and the memory is good. The staff were friendly and helpful when needed. There are two pools - the big one and a smaller lap pool set between rooms. We happened to score one of the rooms right next to the lap pool and it was a very nice (romantic) setting. The breakfast is top-notch - makes it easy to forget you're in a third-world country - but you do pay for that treat. I was actually over-charged and questioned it after I had paid my bill. Because the account was closed, they offered me a free boxed-lunch to go for each of us. That was a nice touch. Definitely recommend staying here.

Room tip: Get a room near to the lap pool - quieter part of the hotel in the annex. There's an underpass to get to the main hotel area.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HKertland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us! We are so glad that you've enjoyed your stay so much. We appreciate very much your understanding regarding the issue at check out, we'll work hard to prevent this situations to happen again in the future.
We hope that you visit us again soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Very nice place with a good location, on walking distance from Parque central. The place has a nice pool in a lush garden, great breakfast buffet with chefs making your choice of eggs, helpful staff. The room was equipped with everything you need. Nice bed and balcony. The room was clean and cleaned daily. There is a complementary small gym and spa with dry sauna and steambath. Recommended stay!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Arjanversluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
We are so glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us so much, thank you so much for sharing your review.
We hope that you come back soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

They advertise a kids club but do not tell you that its only on weekends. Breakfast is expensive at 18.00 USD per person. The rooms are nice and pool warm enough.

Parking is two blocks away but the hotel provides transportation back.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Armando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the traveller community on Trip Advisor. We'll update our information about Porta Kids House hours and days of operation, thank you so much for sharing this information to us, is really helpful.
We really hope that you visit us again soon!
Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Like Casa Santo Domingo, where we stayed the night before, this place is all about Old World charm. We paid wildly different rates the two nights we were here (Jan. 1 was a steal; the night before, which we booked later and which of course was New Year's Eve, was almost $100 more. Yet even that was so much less than you'd pay for a comparable room in a typical U.S. hotel) for the same room. It was clean, attractive, and comfortable, if a bit on the small side.

The grounds/gardens are really nice, especially at night. The pool looked inviting, though we never made time to swim in it, and my teenage sons reported that the fitness room was top notch.

Downside: The food in the restaurant is nothing to write home about; we ate there one night (New Year's Eve, when all the other places we tried were jam-packed) and my only caveat would be to skip that and instead enjoy one of the dozens of great eateries that Antigua has to offer.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MplsSEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with the traveller community on Trip Advisor. We are taking your comments and having them shared to our team since this motivate our team to continue to do a great job and because there are some areas of opportunity that for sure we'll follow up.
We really hope that you visit us again in the future.
Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews