We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a great 5 day stay. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. Food and coffee (my husband's favorite) were consistently above average. Room cleaned spotless everyday. The grounds are spectacular.

Our only issue was that the pool and dinning room area on Sunday afternoon was VERY noisy. They had a kids program going on for the afternoon and although the kids loved it for those of us without small children it was unpleasant. That being said it is a very child friendly place and except for Sunday afternoon we had no other issues.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool unless you are traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel6622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Laurel6622,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are glad you've liked the hotel overall. Please don't hesitate to come back when your children grow, we are sure they are going to love our family oriented activities.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 930 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel various times before and it was always excellent. However this time I felt I was staying somewhere else. The service was truly terrible, they only came to tidy our room when we complained about 5 times and when they did tidy the room they literally just made the bed and that was it. Not once was the floor of the bedroom cleaned in fact the room was so dirty that we could not walk barefoot without our feet becoming black right away. Also the hotel rents out parts of it for parties and it is extremely noisy, the walls of the bedroom are paper thin and therefore you can literally hear everything!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherineaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Mrs. Catherineaf,

We truly apologize for the inconveniences during your stay with us. Please be aware that we are going to work on weaknesses encountered on your most recent experience at Porta Hotel Antigua to turn them into strengths for the good of all of our guests.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were very lucky to be upgraded to a room next to the lap pool. From the pool you are surrounded by garden and look up over the pretty roof and see the volcano.
Also helpful was that at the ATM at the front you can withdraw up to
Q5,000. I didn't research extensively but others I found the limit was
Q2, 000 which means more fees if you need more funds for eg. Tikal flights.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bali_dreaming_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Bali_dreaming_Perth,

We are glad you've enjoyed your stay as you expected!

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is in part responsible for having an excellent mouth taste of Guatemala. By far exceeded all my expectations. We were appointed into the VIP area and that pool and rooms are delicious. The breakfast amazing. Overall all the staff is simply great. The only downfalls are the prices of the tours which are very very expensive, the way of exchanging money which is very slow, with limits and a lot of rules, and lastly the gym which is very basic. But those are details since the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear draghignazzo,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us, don't hesitate that we'll take your comments into consideration for future enhancements.

We hope to have you again here at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am very sad to say I only stayed at the hotel one night, but it was a beautiful hotel. I would've loved to stay longer, and plan on returning for a longer stay at some point. The rooms are gorgeous, the pool/restaurant is amazing, and they had a fantastic breakfast buffet. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Antigua.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBeth711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear LauraBeth711,

We are glad we have succesfully exceeded your expectations overall. We hope you can come back in a near future.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Firstly this is a great city and the people are lovely it should not be missed! I liked the hotel very much. Our room 401 was fine, a little small but we only used it to sleep and get ready in. No air con but we didn't need it and there is a ceiling fan. A little noise from horses hooves at night and some cars we were across the street and our room ran along side the road, you may want to check when you book. The breakfast buffet is lovely the lunch was good. The cocktails just okay. The pool is lovely and there are rooms that run poolside I imagine these can be noisy with the music from the restaurant. Staff is fabulous and willing to please...They do a lot of weddings here, I think 3 whilst we were there but it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: we stayed across the street in 401 would not recommend it as it ran along the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Mrs. kimbers1965,

We appreciate you've share your opinion with us. It's great to know we were part of a wonderful experience at La Antigua Guatemala for you.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent three nights at the Porta hotel in Antigua and it was wonderful. Woke up to a bountiful breakfast buffet and a post card view. Such pretty grounds and great service. You should not stay anywhere else when in Antigua.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwininTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear TwininTexas,

Thank you for recommending us. We are so glad you've enjoyed your stay at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#13 of 75 in Antigua
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 75 in Antigua
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $137 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing