We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is in part responsible for having an excellent mouth taste of Guatemala. By far exceeded all my expectations. We were appointed into the VIP area and that pool and rooms are delicious. The breakfast amazing. Overall all the staff is simply great. The only downfalls are the prices of the tours which are very very expensive, the way of exchanging money which is very slow, with limits and a lot of rules, and lastly the gym which is very basic. But those are details since the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear draghignazzo,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us, don't hesitate that we'll take your comments into consideration for future enhancements.

We hope to have you again here at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for Porta Hotel Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 884 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am very sad to say I only stayed at the hotel one night, but it was a beautiful hotel. I would've loved to stay longer, and plan on returning for a longer stay at some point. The rooms are gorgeous, the pool/restaurant is amazing, and they had a fantastic breakfast buffet. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Antigua.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBeth711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear LauraBeth711,

We are glad we have succesfully exceeded your expectations overall. We hope you can come back in a near future.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Firstly this is a great city and the people are lovely it should not be missed! I liked the hotel very much. Our room 401 was fine, a little small but we only used it to sleep and get ready in. No air con but we didn't need it and there is a ceiling fan. A little noise from horses hooves at night and some cars we were across the street and our room ran along side the road, you may want to check when you book. The breakfast buffet is lovely the lunch was good. The cocktails just okay. The pool is lovely and there are rooms that run poolside I imagine these can be noisy with the music from the restaurant. Staff is fabulous and willing to please...They do a lot of weddings here, I think 3 whilst we were there but it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: we stayed across the street in 401 would not recommend it as it ran along the street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Mrs. kimbers1965,

We appreciate you've share your opinion with us. It's great to know we were part of a wonderful experience at La Antigua Guatemala for you.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent three nights at the Porta hotel in Antigua and it was wonderful. Woke up to a bountiful breakfast buffet and a post card view. Such pretty grounds and great service. You should not stay anywhere else when in Antigua.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwininTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear TwininTexas,

Thank you for recommending us. We are so glad you've enjoyed your stay at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

As i said in my other reviews, when we travel for pleasure, my wife and I prefer value and good service over looks and extravaganza. This hotel is not short of any and has almost all of it: great price, friendly service and beautiful grounds (no extravaganza).
Property: since Antigua is preserved, no building is more than two floors, which made this hotel expand to across that little street, like any other street in the city. Although the extension has no reception or pool, but has a charm of its own. We stayed at the main part, that has a stunning landscape and tropical plants, including 2 pairs of parrots. The pool was big enough to relax and enjoy the solar powered heating. Our room was very spacious. Yes it misses A/c but the ceiling fan was more than comfortable.
Service: the kindness of the people of Antigua city and their culture was clearly apparent. All members of the staff were kind and humble. You can not ask for anything and you won't get it. From the moment we arrived, at night after 11 until we left 7 days later, we did not feel but kindness, respect and willingness to help. In summary, the staff wanted us to be happy and to feel comfortable
Amenities: Pool, gym, Spa, excellent buffet and wifi throughout the facilities. Wifi was free on common and general areas, but at a reasonable price in the rooms ( they should make it free ). Beds and mattresses were first grade and very comfortable.
We strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want activities, stay at the main part but if you prefer quiet environment you better stay at...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmkandkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear gmkandkh,

It's great to know that our team has meet your expectations with our Best in Class service. We hope this is not the last time we have the opportunity to receive you at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed 6 nights in one of the no balcony pool side rooms. The resort grounds are beautiful and there is another section across and up the street. This is one of the problems of the resort. If you want to be near the dining, concierge, and the pool, you have to stay on the main side. The problem is that the restaurant music started early several mornings and went poolside some nights until 11pm! It was tough to not have interrupted sleep some mornings and nights.

The restaurant food is very good, but is overpriced on some items.

The pool area is excellent, but the pool should be retiled.

The room was fantastic (316) except for this: When staying at a 4-5 star resort, even in a third world country I want AIR CONDITIONING! This is a mandatory item when paying these prices! Also the bathrooms should at minimum have a sliding window for ventilation.

My wife and I do highly recommend this resort as the overall quality and the location at the price is unbeatable for Antigua--and we stayed during Holy Week.

Room Tip: If you stay on the main premises you will get poolside and restaurant noise in your room. But if you...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denabruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience Mrs. denabruin, It's been a pleasure to be your hosts during the Holy Week in Antigua.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in Antigua. The hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent. My children ha a good time in he kids club, the sauna and gym is clean,
We loved it. I would go back to the same place, if I have the chance!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Mrs. Maria Jose P,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua. We hope to have the opportunity to have you again at Porta Hotel Antigua in a near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#11 of 75 in Antigua
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $128 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing