We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've stayed in- no joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've stayed in- no joke”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wow! What an experience!!! They have set the benchmark for all hotels worldwide!!! They upgraded our room for free, when we wanted to book an extra night ( because we loved the experience so. Much) they told us it would be cheaper to book on the internet- love the honesty. When we had to move rooms they made it a seamless, stress free process. Staff always greeted you with a huge smile & took a general interest in your well-being. Rooms were clean & comfortable. The facilities are great. Definitely treat yourself to breakfast not only is the selection amazing, the breakfast supervisor Orlio, makes the experience all the more memorable. The staff understand exceptional customer service & strive for this everyday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mrs. Sarah M,

Thanks so much for sharing such a glowing review for our team. We are so glad your experience has been up to your expectations.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    229
    34
    5
    10
See reviews for
254
211
46
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff, great rooms and great location. If your looking for alone time we figured out no one goes to the lap pool, so we went swimming there. We also booked a couples massage. It was great! The restaurant has a great breakfast and an okay dinner buffet. You can easily take a shuttle from the airport to the hotel and shuttles to nearby attractions from the hotel. Only thing I would do differently is ask for a room away from the street. It can get very loud. Other than that, perfect:)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mrs. Karina R,

We appreciate very much your comments and recomendations. We hope this is not the only time you visit us at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic location. Walking distance to everything but still in a quieter part of town. Staff was very welcoming, very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and we loved that we had a fire place in it. Our room was near the lap pool which is very tranquil and peaceful. The restaurant and food was great. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and we ate from the a la carte menu for dinner which was also wonderful. Restaurant staff were once again brilliant! Would definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mrs. Angela M,

It's a pleasure to read you've had a nice experience at Porta Antigua.

We hope to see you again around here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with beautiful grounds, a swimming pool and a wonderful spa. It’s very conveniently located close to the center of Antigua. The staff are helpful and attentive. My husband and I loved the massages at the hotel’s spa. We had a very nice ground-floor room with a patio. We also booked a transfer from the Guatemala City airport via the hotel and that worked out great. I highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in the gorgeous town of Antigua.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the main area of the hotel. They have a location across the street as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such an amazing experience at Porta Hotel Antigua! We are glad we've fulfilled your expectations during your stay.

Hope we have the opportunity to be your hosts again in a near future.

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

El hotel Porta Antigua es un encanto: habitaciones tranquilas, jardines impecables, dos piscinas bonitas - todo en un conjunto de edificios bien entretenidos. El desayuno abuntante con servicio muy atentento invita a prolongar su estadia.

The hotel Porta Antigua is an enchantment: quiet rooms, impeccable gardens, two lovely pools - all in a complex of well-maintained buildings. The copious breakfast with very attentive service invites you to extend your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Estimado Sr. aquatik,
Es un agrado saber que ha disfrutado de su estadía como merece.
Saludos cordiales,

Dear Mr. aquatik,
It's nice to hear you've enjoy your stay as you deserve.
Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, walking distance from all of the attractions in Antigua but just far enough out of the centre to provide some tranquility. The pool is great as it gets quite hot in Antigua walking the streets and we would come back to the hotel to cool down before heading off for the afternoon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank macsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear macsar,

We are glad you've enjoyed your stay. We hope we'll see you again very soon.

Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for five nights over spring break. Concierge was excellent and helped booked tours in Antigua. Because the hotel has a section across the street from the main area, we appreciated the security presence at each entrance at night as there were many girls walking back and forth. This hotel offers a scenic swimming pool with wonderful volcano views, rose gardens and courtyards throughout, and well-stocked vats of purified water. The rooms, though dark, were comfortable, tastefully decorated and included a spacious bathroom. The front desk also exchanged money for us without a fee – so much better than going to a bank. Hotel was in a great location, easy walking distance to the city square and great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllisonDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. AllisonDav,

Thank you very much for this delightful review.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 76 in Antigua
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 76 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Property: Porta Hotel Antigua
Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing