We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

stayed here in Jan. 2014. Loved everything about it. Situated in historic Antigua, simply walk out the door and enjoy the town. Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, staff was very helpful. I was with a tour group and we ate most of our meals at the hotel buffets. Food was very good, great service. Rooms have small coffee pot, TV, hair dryer, water bottles, shampoo, soap, etc. safe to lock your valuables. I felt so safe here and really enjoyed everything about the hotel. Only complaint was fireworks were set off two nights in a row, very loud, sounded like gunfire right outside our door. I think there were weddings celebrating late at night.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main part of the hotel near the pool, can be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaroard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Jaroard,

We appreciate you share your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua with us. Your comments are welcome and motivate us to continue on the road to excellence.

Regarding the fireworks, this is not permitted at our facilities or meeting rooms, neither at weddings in which we provide catering service to, but some people outside and not related to Porta, do this without the permission of the city hall late at night, and unfortunately, these situations affect to all of us and neighborhoods around when done late at night.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    219
    30
    5
    8
See reviews for
239
203
44
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have previously reviewed the hotel so this review is just for the spa. My husband and I booked a couples massage at the Porta Hotel Spa and it was fantastic, for me. My husband didn't like the "fru-fru" aromas that the therapists used, but I did...My massage was great. He said his was average.

The best part of the spa visit was after our massages... the therapists lit candles on the steps into a bubble-filled jacuzzi bath and then they left. There was also a private shower with soap and shampoo in that room. It was heavenly.

Also in the locker rooms, they have a steam room, sauna, showers, blow dryers, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments Mrs. Lisa R, we really appreciate you are taking your time to congratulate our team at Ceiba Porta Spa.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Porta Hotel Antigua is a very nice hotel in a great location. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We stayed in a room that had a living room downstairs and two beds upstairs. It was nice, but dark. Our friends stayed in a room with a living room on the same level as a large master bedroom which I would have preferred. This room was far away from the big pool and restaurant, but I think it is worth it. Take advantage of the fireplace in the evening!
The food was good. Loved the fact that the hotel was in a location from which we could walk all around Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d22randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review Mr. d22randy, your comments are taken into consideration to develop new enhancements in our rooms in a near future.

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good in structure, good restaurant and great costumer services, my Room did have Two problems i did not have the fan control and There Was a loudsy blue light that Came from the air condionter equipment. But i sure did recomend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Roberto G,

We appreciate you've considered sharing your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua. New enhancements are about to come in a near future and your comments are of great help.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I stayed at Porta Hotel Antigua on three separate occasions during our recent trip to vist. We stayed in the Junior Suite the first two nights; it is lovely with a private balcony that overlooks the city with great views of the three volcanoes that dominate the skyline. However, don't rely on the sofa bed for an extra person! It was old, VERY creaky and incredibly uncomfortable according to my son who spent a relatively sleepless night on it. Although it was nice having two showers, the downstairs shower water pressure could use some attention. Our second stay was in a lovely standard double room; this stay was foreshortened by travel challenges that one has to expect in Guatemala but the staff held the room for us and it was a lovely place to take a few hours to prepare for our next jaunt around Guatemala! My daughter got in a restful nap on a very comfortable double bed. Our third and final night was again in a lovely standard room with a patio that provided a wonderful view of the gardens.

The grounds and pool are lovely although we spent very little time actually within the confines of the hotel; there is too much to see in Antigua itself! The staff was great even to the point of knocking on our door as part of our 3 AM wake-up call for our trip to Tikal. The breakfast buffet is sumptuous but they also have a complete breakfast menu. We ate dinner there only once but the food was delicious and the service excellent. Enough of the staff are bilingual (English-speaking) that we weren't completely lost when my bilingual son (who lives in Antigua) was at his own apartment. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The standard rooms with balconies/patios are lovely and allow you to enjoy the grounds without leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mrs. Beverly L,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your 3 stays at Porta Antigua. Your comments are taken into consideration for developing new enhancements in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent our last two nights in Guatemala here and I wish we could stay longer. The hotel grounds are lovely, our room was nicely decorated and the beds super comfortable. I was delighted to find a balcony off of our second floor room with two chairs and a table. If we had more time we would have used the spa and pool. Finca Filadelphia (coffee tour) also picks up here so it was convenient.

This is hardly the most expensive hotel in Antigua... we spent two nights at Santa Domingo and the rooms were $40 more per night. I am glad we stayed there too because the museums on the hotel grounds are amazing, and it is also a very pretty hotel, but I would say that Porta is a better value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Tracy s,

We really appreciate you recommend Porta Hotel Antigua to our future guests. Your comments are great motivation for our staff, and are shared to them so we can continue providing best in class service at all times.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Some rooms are a little dated and a few things broke down (shower head), but everything else is lovely. Staff fantastic. Food good, especially breakfast. Pool area great place to relax. It is very crowded for Sunday mornings at breakfast and around the pool. The staff is very loud in the mornings.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllenSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mrs. EllenSea,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. It's great to know our customers perception to improve the quality of our service.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Property: Porta Hotel Antigua
Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing