We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand old colonial hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A grand old colonial hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

What you find behind a small door and a high wall will amaze you. A good hotel with several annexes and with a pool, restaurant and rooms in the central part. A 'chit' for a complementary cocktail at a time of your choice was a nice touch.The rooms in the 400 annex were large colonial style with ceiling fans and windows that open. The bathroom was big enough to hold a dance in. There are lots of places to eat nearby but a phase book would be handy as many did not have an English translation of their menu. It it easy to get lost in Antigua, all the cobled streets and pastle painted walls look simular and there are very few signs around to enable you to get your bearings (even the giant Burger King restaurant was only allowed to diplay a descreat brass plaque on its wall). Obtaining a city street map is a good idea.

Room Tip: 400 series rooms our in the annex across the street while there 500 series room are across another r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    219
    30
    5
    8
See reviews for
239
203
44
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after having traveled in other parts of Guatemala and it was really a wonderful place. Clean with all the amenities of a first rate hotel. It was a bit too cold to swim in the pools but they were well maintained. The older portion of the hotel seemed to be more family friendly. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and it was peaceful and wonderfully designed. It is on the pricier side for Guatemala accommodations, but for the security, convenience, and cleanliness, well worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer portion of the hotel were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

If I ever go back to Guatemala this is one place I do not want to miss! The hotel is in two parts. The older unit where you find the resturant and large pool. Then the newer unit across the street which has a wonderful pool but smaller. The two sections are connected by an underground walkway. You are within an easy walk of the square and many of the downtown sights you want to see. The resturant provided a wide selection of great foon. Loved the service and free WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. It is on the pricier side for Guatemala but worth the price. I would probably go somewhere else if I were to return to Antigua simply because it is more of a Disney Land/large resort type of hotel rather than a charming boutique. American standards and very clean. I had no complaints except that it lacked some charm but that just happens with larger hotel chains. Rooms and beds were wonderful with high ceilings and great showers! We didn't have any meals there or swim in the pools but there were at least two pools- one which was definitely a family/kid pool but another right in front of our room which was a more romantic lap pool. Both looked great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice and the staff was very friendly and attentive. The grounds were well kept with lots of flora. The hotel is well located, and Antigua Guatemala is charming and worth visiting. On the first night the A/C in the hotel was not working properly, so the next day they apologized and upgraded us to a Jr. Suite. The breakfast was great with a very nice spread, and worth getting up for.

Room Tip: Get a Jr. Suite or better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripJamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Antigua is a charming Colonial city and we felt we could spend a few months here. The Porta hotel was amazing. It was a coffee plantation that they converted to hotel and consists of several buildlings with an understreet tunnel to connect the buildings. The architectural style is beautiful with rooms around the courtyards. Our room was dark with one little window but had skylights in bathroom but it didn't matter because the room was so large and comfortable and beautiful. There was a corner fireplace, two large beds and weaving on wall, nice bedcovers and artifacts on mantle. Bathroom was large. We didn't want to leave that hotel after two days! Food was excellent! Some of the best in Guatemala with interesting little salads served in small dishes on the buffet and wonderful little desserts, handmade tortillas, tamales and special native foods. The dining room overlooked the large pool and courtyard and had more native weavings on tables. One of the prettiest hotels I've seen! I would return next time!

Room Tip: I would ask for room facing large pool next time for some sun and it is closer to dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear TravelingDevils,

Thank you so much for posting this exceptional review on Trip Advisor. It is very rewarding to read such nice comments about your stay. Thank you for highlighting them. We have a very dedicated team and it is our aim to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us. I am delighted that we did this for you and I will pass on your kind words to everyone.

We will be all looking forward to welcome you in the near future to your home away from home!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The main square is about 3-4 blocks away with many restaurants close by. The staff incredibly nice! You will find all the amenities that you expect, spa, pool, restaurant, bar and a great view of the 3 volcanoes seen from Antigua. You really feel at home.

Room Tip: The area in front of the pool is a little older but the view is very nice. The 500 area rooms are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilianaEmilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear LilianaEmilio,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments and we'd like to thank you for choosing us. I’ll be pleased to pass on your wonderful comments to our staff! Which encourage us to keep up with the good work. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcome you again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Property: Porta Hotel Antigua
Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing