We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palmdale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Porta Antigua hotel was wonderful! A romantic place, beautiful gardens and pools. The service was excellent and the breakfast buffet was good! The location was good as well. A couple of blocks to get anywhere. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our service. I have passed on your kind words to our team and I look forward to personally welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    236
    34
    5
    10
See reviews for
265
214
46
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Definitely worth the price. I cant wait to go back! The pool was my favorite part. The most unique part was that the only way to get to my room was to go through an underground tunnel with water fountains. Very cool, but anyone coming home late after drinking a couple Gallos should be extra careful because those stairs are super steep!!!

Staff = A
Food = B+
Rooms = A-
Pool = A
Location = A-

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel with "all" you can wish for, with good standard rooms, swimming pool, gym and central location. The rooms were however a bit dark, and we found the service at the pool really slow (we had lunch here). Also both the rooms and the food was pricy compared to other options. The hotel offers free wifi in the reception, other places you have to pay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is spread out on both sides of a street and it can be easy to get lost. There is an underground tunnel--more attractive than that sounds with fountains and music and well lit-- Lovely gardens in the centre with pool. We enjoyed the piano music by the restaurant in the evening. The buffet was very good and service excellent. As part of a tour we had a $5 for 24 hour internet use at a small computer centre (it is not open 24 hours, however.) I agree with another reviewer that the room tended to be stuffy and on the dark side. Although this section was built only five years ago it was in the traditional style with plastered walls and dark wood trim and high ceilings. It is centrally located however, and an easy walk on the cobblestones to the central square and cathedrals. The new section we were in had a lap pool two meters outside our front door with lounge chairs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank annaliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Annaliese,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our buffet, the service and the pool area. We are always striving to better accommodate our guests and we'll take action in the issues you've mentioned. It was great having you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at the Port Hotel for two nights during a Caravan tour in Guatemala.
Positives: The hotel is centrally located and perfect for walking in Antigua. It is located less than 6 blocks from the cathedral and main square. It is also located within walking distance to the central market and supermarket La Bodegona. Both the breakfast and dinner buffets were fabulous. The food selection was ample for vegetarians and the salads were marvelous. The desserts were wonderful as well. A huge array of pastries and fruit were provided each evening. What a treat!

Negatives:
We were lucky enough to have a room with air conditioning. If not, we would have suffered from heat stroke. There was only one window that opened outwards and it did not have a screen. Our room had air conditioning that worked fairly well...but began to drip and leak by morning. All rooms should have A.C. There is not enough air circulation without air conditioning. The rooms were decorated nicely, but the lights were so dim that reading in the evening was impossible. The hotel must increase the wattage of their light bulbs. It was hard to even open up the combination of my suitcase lock! With these two improvements, the Porta Hotel would be magnificent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning. Otherwise you will have no ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeninyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Jeninyc,

Thank you very much for your comments we really appreciate your feedback. We take your concerns seriously and your review will help us to improve in these issues, please know that your satisfaction is our main goal and we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations completely; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I didn't stay at the hotel but I did have a treatment at Ceiba Spa which was recommended by the receptionist where I was staying. I had some trouble finding the front desk of the hotel, but the person I found actually walked me all the way to the spa which is far inside the hotel complex. I arrived as a walk in, and based on the time I had available the spa receptionist recommended an exfoliating treatment and a massage. I was very impressed that they asked me to complete a health questionnaire as is done in the States. My therapist, Laura, was very skilled. The room was attractive with soft lighting, music and aromatherapy. I had an exfoliating treatment with cornmeal and cardamom which left my skin very soft. The massage was over an hour and was wonderful. Price was $90 plus tip, which was much less than I would pay at home at the US. This was a very relaxing way to pamper myself after some intensive sightseeing.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank CulverCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua Guatemala, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel Antigua is set in a really great location. The best thing about the hotel, is that you don't have to be a guest at the hotel to come enjoy a day by the pool. You just pay like $10 to the front desk, and go pick yourself out a chair by the pool. The fee lets you stay all day, so make the most out of it. Careful if you order some drinks or food, it can get pricey pretty fast. They have some exotic birds around the courtyard area as wll, so if there's not a bunch of kids running around, you have a nice serene atmosphere to relax in. Also a lot of shuttles leave from this hotel to Earth Lodge, and many other popular spots around Antigua. Sometimes the name can be confusing. Some people call it Porta Hotel, others just Hotel Antigua. Either way, it's at the corner of 5a Ave and 8a Calle, across the street from the church

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Property: Porta Hotel Antigua
Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing