We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, service and charm”

Posada de Don Rodrigo
Ranked #36 of 371 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Allentown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great meal, service and charm”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant is long on charm. Its an old colonial posada right next to the Arch. Their were 13 of us for dinner. We ate on the open air porch looking out at the charming garden courtyard. The wine list was lovely. We opted for the Chilean wines that were offered and they were excellent. The cherviches were very fresh. We ate fish, typical platters and lomotito-beef fillet-plus the very good Antiguan sausage. We devoured the desert cart. Our head waiter Walter kept up with our every demand smoothly moving between Spanish and English for our friends who don't speak Spanish. He made us linger over coffee because he wanted to give us a treat and then invited us in to watch the Baille de moros, a folklorico dance ensemble that was so festive and fun that many in our party joined in when invited. It was a great night in Antigua.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    88
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Antigua”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We came back twice as the menu selection of typical Guatemalan specialties was delicious. Service is very attentive and friendly. Lovely courtyard experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonytravelkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fun and tasty”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Another Antigua gem, beautiful courtyard, small restaurant, good food and service. Enjoyed twice. Easily walkable from anywhere in Antigua.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank eddieluda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good choice for local cuisine.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My main eating objective when travelling is local cuisine. After looking at the tripadvisor reviews, I chose Posada de Don Rodrigo. The setting is beautiful. The service was impeccable. I was not, however, overwhelmed by the food, but that may be more because of the my menu choices than the quality of the food. I would certainly recommend this to any visitor to Antigua Guatemala.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excelent food and view of the volvanoes”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location es good. The service also perfect
The restarant food is fantastic
Dont forget to eat "Puyaso" is meat just if you dont understand the spanish term. The upper level is just fine to take a look at the volcanoes, specially at sunset... Take a jacket it is colder at nite!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RicktrellesPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada de Don Rodrigo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Posada de Don Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing