We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monoloco

Monoloco
Ranked #49 of 344 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: sports bar and restaurant
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
389 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“nice bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

nice spot in Antigua. Well kept bar, food and drinks. There is a travel agency on site. As well as a shop with souvenirs. Is located in Antigua city center.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank alerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    145
    61
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good american bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Monoloco is a great place for a huge burger and some beers. I was there on happy hour, and ordered the premium choice of two drinks for Q50, the food is soo big and taste good. The waiter knew his menu very well and was very kind.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its true...Nachos as big as your head”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Big portions of nachos. Esaily feeds 4 people.
Service is good and the prices are good value.

Fun ambiance especially for sporting events like the
olympics!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Over Priced & Over Rated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have been to Monoloco on several different occasions but this last time is my last. If you have a lot of money to spend, here is a good place. I wandered in and saw some familiar faces from Panajachel so we sat at the bar for beers. When I asked the bartender how much they were, he said 22 q's. All over town you can get beers for 13 q so if you want to pay 9 more, go ahead.

Being on my travel budget, I see a guy with a liter so I asked how much again and was told 40 Q, so I got one. Not sure about your math but nine says 62 Q? When I got my tab, it was 80 Q so I asked the bartender why? he says "Oh, they must of raised the prices".

Last time I will ever go to Monoloco and a well deserved name.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy1008, General Manager at Monoloco, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank You for your review, Lenny. We apologize for the confusion over the prices at our Bar/Restaurant. Our prices are clearly written on our menus, as well as on chalkboards, table top publicity, and on top of the bars. If our bartender was ill informed, we will work to improve upon that.

As for our pricing, we offer daily and nightly specials, including, as of this writing, 2 Brahva Extra for Q30 from 5-8 Monday through Friday, Cubetazos of 5 beers for 99 Q all day everyday, 2 Litros of Brahva or Brahva Extra for Q75 all day everyday, and a Premium Happy Hour from 5-8 on premium brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Home Sweet Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Sure there are lots of exotic restaurants throughout this beautiful city, but sometimes your arteries scream for fried food and beers only an American style sports bar can satisfy. I personally recommend the Tropical Burger and onion rings. TVs everywhere and great sports fans wearing their team jerseys.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NedBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy1008, General Manager at Monoloco, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback! See you again soon at the Mono!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monoloco also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Monoloco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing