We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet authentic place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culinaria

Culinaria
Ranked #284 of 344 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Soups, Indian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Culinaria is a great spot in Antigua to have luch, dinner or a cup of the best coffee in the world surrounded by beautiful flowers and luscious greenery. We offer a vast variety of dishes. All bread, pastries and quiches are home made. We also offer a great selection of Indian dishes. Kids and families are more than welcome. We offer a kids playground in a safe and clean enviroment.
Assens, Denmark
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Quiet authentic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Found this place by luck.
Went into the small Garden area and decided to have lunch.
Was surprised when we got the menu, because we are not Indian food Lovers....but decided to try it...and it was very tasty.
Also had a nice glass of wine plus coffee...a Big bonus was shade, quietness and free wifi. Friendly staff.
Would come back, and I recommend it to others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MereteMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro R, Gerente at Culinaria, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our restaurant. We strive to provide the best possible service to our patrons. Your comments are a big pat on the shoulder for our entire staff! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    5
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

From a distance this doesn't look like much, but as you draw nearer your eyes are drawn to the patch of green that is the lovely garden dining area. This is a very nice place to eat.

There are two menus: one for Indian food and one for more mainstream western dishes. We samples the Indian dishes - pork vindaloo for me and chicken tikka masala for the lovely lady - with a starter of dips and breads. All and sundry were tasty without knocking my socks off.

The service was attentive and friendly without being over-bearing.

Food prices were ok - about 90 for an Indian main - though there are cheaper lunch options (sandwiches and salads). Wine was a touch on the expensive side, at Q155 for the cheapest bottle of red.

We had a good time here without being blown away by the food. The garden is very nice, though, an would be perfect for a long lunch on a nice day.

Helpful?
Thank thebrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great presentation, service and flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wow, what wonderful food! The spinach enchiladas, the naan, the indian food (especially recommend the korma) and the design of the restaurant were superb. We also tried the shrimp appetizer - amazing! We took some pastry home for the next days breakfast. Also incredible! I cant say enough positive comments about this place, really great break from the latino fare that we had been eating for a week (also good but you need a break).- Another plus, at the back of the property a place for children to play. Great for couples and families. Tables were quite far apart so we had privacy in their lovely garde under the stars!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Food is great from the break of beans and tortillas. It's overly priced for chicken masala. Paid 11USD for a small portion of food. Not worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan92677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST INDIAN FOOD!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Gardens: Beautiful
Food: Amazingly wonderful
Atmosphere: Awesome!!

It was a great place for our first dinner

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro R, Propietario at Culinaria, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments! A big BRAVO for our staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinaria also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Culinaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing