We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hosts, average stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taanah Guest House Antigua

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taanah Guest House Antigua
Ranked #22 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hosts, average stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I chose this place based on the excellent reviews. The place is very hard to find for locals, perhaps a sign on the main road (manchen) with a big arrow pointing towards the side road (flores) would assist. The hosts are very nice and accomodating and will assist you if required, but it would be very nice to have some light housekeeping without having to ask for it. Something basic like emptying the bins and changing towels would be sufficient. Also breakfasts are different every day but what you get for example is cornflakes/pancakes and coffee or tea. Again, perhaps a glass of juice would be nice in the morning. I do understand it is good value for money at 35usd a night including breakfast, but i personally would rather either get good housekeeping or a good breakfast rather than try to offer everything and not really meeting the required standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadeJaguar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Would not consider staying at another guest house or hotel in Antigua. Evelyn and Fernando go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay with them. Their house is well located and quiet. The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast always a delight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sizzlingwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We (myself, husband and 2 children aged 7 & 9) stayed two weeks at Taanah and it was exactly what we were looking for; private room with 2 double beds and roomy enough for the four of us.

Private bathroom and an introduction to some home cooked 'local' meals by way of Evelyn's breakfasts, but also the added advantage of being able to cook meals for ourselves and enjoy them around a regular family dining table. We were able to shop for groceries and have a shelf in the fridge and draw in the kitchen to store things.

Evelyn also recommended some great little places to eat too for the few times we ate out. Definitely go to the Rincon Tipico.

Our girls really loved playing with the cats and kittens and we so appreciated Evelyn and Fernando delaying the kittens departure to their new home until after we had left. I celebrated Mothers Day and they also presented me with a little gift which was so thoughtful and sweet - it is little things like this that makes all the difference and more personable. We appreciated the trouble Fernando went to in assisting us with other things - they really did go above and beyond.

They are not intrusive at all - quite the opposite as they go out and often we were at home alone. It really felt like just house sharing! They have a wonderful balance of helpfulness and independence - the perfect hosts. They arranged our arrival and departure transfers and also visits from a tutor for a few days Spanish tuition. All in all - we had a very easy and enjoyable stay. The girls treasure your parting gift - puuurfect!

Room Tip: We had the front room and it was lovely to wake up to the view of the Water Volcano each morning - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2adl2chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Taanah for 14 days. We came to study Spanish, have a relaxing vacation and get a feel for real life in Guatemala. We considered Anitgua hotels we've enjoyed in the past or a home stay which we've enjoyed in Peru. We wanted something in between and this was the perfect blend of hotel amenities nice rooms & good breakfast with the friendly companionship you hope for in a home stay without the 24/7 intensity. We felt connected yet independent. I highly recommend Taanah especially for an extended stay.

Upstairs is hotel like with four good sized bed rooms each with private bath,comfortable beds & storage space. The upstairs sitting area is great for reading a book or checking your emails when your travel companion goes to bed early or sleeps late. The rooms are are cleaned regularly and fresh towels provided. I am allergic to cats so we kept our bedroom door shut and I had no problems. The wifi is fast enough for watching movies etc.

The first floor is available as a common area. There is large kitchen, living room with TV and courtyard patio. Evelyn makes a delicious breakfast every day, pancakes, omelets, french toast.. Sharing breakfast at her big table is perfect for making new friends and exchanging tips on things to do. If you want to use kitchen to make your own lunches/dinners you can. The courtyard table is good for doing homework and watching a movie or soccer game can be a friendly diversion. During our stay I'd describe the house as quite, polite and very friendly.

The location is on a quite little street on the north central part of town just "below the cross." It is an easy walk anyplace in Antigua which is basically a 9 x 9 block city. Probably a 6 minute stroll to Parque Central. A couple of times when it was late or raining hard we jumped in a Tuk Tuk and for <$2 we could be anywhere.

Evelyn and Fernando are the perfect hosts very friendly and helpful with transportation arrangements, restaurant tips, helpful insights about the area. They both speak English or Spanish depending on your preference. We will dearly miss Evelyn, Fernando and our other new friends made at Taanah. We hope to return and we fully recommend Taanah.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank budget_travel_buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent several days at Taanah Guest house in April 2013. The owners were SO incredibly helpful with everything, including getting up at 5 am to see that our shuttle to the airport arrived. The rooms are nice, nothing very fancy. Breakfast was good and conversation with the owners and the other guests was a more personalized experience. Easy to walk to everything and off the main area enough where other tourists won't be in your way. If I were to stay for an extended period of time in Antigua, this would be a great choice (and was also great for a short stay)!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We're so pleased we found this place. It's at the very north of town just across the road from the main cobblestone (but still v near the main tourist centre & v safe including at night) Ask them to send you a map when you book. Their details & email are on FB

Clean & comfortable overall
Large bedrooms
Good showers & hot, large bathrooms
excellent kitchen space
Family style living area, movies available
Good breakfasts
Super friendly hosts with good knowledge of Antigua & happy to book tours / onward travel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Taanah Guesthouse is a wonderful and affordable lodging option. It's located on the north end of town, about a 5 minute walk to Central Park.

Hosts Fernando and Evelyn are kind, caring and go out of their way to make you feel happy and comfortable in Antigua. Each room has a private bath, and Evelyn's breakfasts provide a great start to the day.

Staying here is a much more personal experience than a hotel. If you want to feel like you have a "home" in Antigua, stay at Taanah Guesthouse. You won't regret it. Tell the gray tabby cat that Tamara sent you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara_in_Antigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#4 of 100 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#7 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roo's Hostal Antigua
Roo's Hostal Antigua
#37 of 100 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#12 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#23 of 100 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#13 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanah Guest House Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanah Guest House Antigua

Property: Taanah Guest House Antigua
Address: Avenida Norte final 3 | Flores del Manchen No.7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanah Guest House is located just 4 blocks form Central Park and 2 blocks form La Calle del Arco.We have 4 rooms available, with private bathroom and hot water. The rooms are furnished with: -2 double beds -Night table -Storing cabinet with locking doors -Fresh linens and towels -Wireless Internet connectionYou will find a relaxed atmosphere in the dining room, the living room has cable TV and a small inner garden perfect for reading or having a cup of coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing