We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Place to Stay Hostel
Ranked #8 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Really enjoyed the stay there! Raul, Fernando and Antonia were really nice. If u have any problems, they will help u and take care of u. It is not just a hostel, it is very personal. Free internet and a great bereakfast.. whats more to say. I really love that place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 256 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very nice place with a great team taking care of you enjoy, and keep your safety, I strongly recommend you get there.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danperetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hostal is a really good place to stay in Antigua. The owner Raul, his brother Fernando and his sister Antonia are running the hostal and giving you a feeling like home. It´s not only the cheap prices (40 Quetzales in the dorm, 50 each in a double including breakfast). The breakfast is really good (there are like four different types) and they even serve you the breakfast on the table when they see your up. There´s free WiFi, a PC you can use, a kitchen you can use, a TV room, a nice place to eat and sit at night to talk, drink a glas of wine, play guitare,... And Raul and Fernando are really helpful planning trips and stuff. The only disadvantage is, that after 1 am you can´t get in the hostal. But if you just want to have a nice, relaxed place to stay and you´re not big fan of afterpartys this is the place for you. Next to the busterminal and the market.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I can really recommend this hostel. Raoul, Fernando and Antonia, the owners, are very helpful in all cases and very friendly. A white cat and a big rabbit make the family complete. The hostel itself has clean, functional rooms, shared bathrooms with hot shower, a kitchen, a living room and a nice outdoor area where the guests can eat, drink, or just relax. Situated directly at the bus station and near the market, it takes a five minutes walk to the very center of Antigua, the Parque Central. Breakfast is included. Guests can cook by themselves with food from the market or the supermarket, both which are only a few steps away from the hostel.

Room Tip: You can sleep in a dorm, but there are also double rooms if you like to have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Great location - close to the bus statio, mercado de artesanias (handcraft maket) and veggies/meat/ fruit market. 5 minutes walk from the centre , supermarket, bakery and ATM. We staid for 4 nights . The price / quality is unbeatable . We paid 100q for a private room with shared bathroom. Super clean, communal area with sofa, communal kitchen. The breakfeast is great and changes every day. Fernando, the host, is from Guatemala and always available to tell you where to go, where to eat. He also can help with booking tours, buses and booking other hostels. They have two pets which are on its own worth to stay : a big (almost giant I would say) bunny and a snow white cat. I really loved our stay there and would definetly recommend,

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martuxa_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiago B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryCruz, Owner at A Place to Stay Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joost S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#10 of 120 in Antigua
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
0.7 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 120 in Antigua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#14 of 120 in Antigua
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#12 of 120 in Antigua
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bigfoot Hostel Antigua
Bigfoot Hostel Antigua
#4 of 120 in Antigua
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place to Stay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place to Stay Hostel

Address: 5ta. Calle Poniente Callejon | Callejon Landivar # 42, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $11 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: We strive to be more than just “A Place to Stay. Our goal is to make Our Home...Your Home ...away from home. We place a high value on maintaining a clean, safe, relaxed, and community oriented environment where everyone feels welcomed. Our guiding principle is integrity and we believe mutual respect is the key to our success. After over 15 years in business we have undergone a major renovation: from new beds in the rooms to the addition of lockers in the dorms, newly decorated common areas, expanded dining area and the building of a fourth shared bathroom. What was once just a backpacker’s hostel is now our home. Our story began here at the hostel 2 years ago when after traveling for 18 months Kerry came here as a guest and met the owner, a confirmed bachelor, Raul. They feel in love and married a few months later and began their journey as husband and wife and business partners to develop a new improved Place to Stay. Together they make a powerful team with Raul’s intimate knowledge of his native homeland Guatemala and 17 years working in tourism and Kerry’s extensive experience as a traveler they have created A Place to Stay which is a haven for travelers craving a comfortable place that feels like home. Since this is our home we are not your typical hostel/hotel, therefore, the types of people that enjoy what we have to offer are couples traveling on a budget, families, and solo travelers who want a clean, safe and affordable place where they can meet others. Our small size (maximum of 20 people with 9 guest rooms) makes for a cozy environment and our shared kitchen and lounge area promote interaction among our guests. It’s important that you like animals as we have pet cats and bunny rabbits; the animals roam free around our property and are very friendly. If you have allergies you should be fine as our pets are not allowed inside the guest rooms. While you are a guest in our home we require you respect our House Rules which includes no smoking or drugs on the property and a curfew of midnight (00:00) every night with no exceptions. Those not back by midnight will not be allowed in until we re-open at 7:00 in the morning; no refunds or discounts. Come join us for a night, a week or a month and find more than a place to stay...find your home away from home. Cancellation Policy: 5 days before the arrival Check In: 13:00 (early check in upon request& availability) Check Out: 11.00 (middle of the night departures require 24-hour advanced notice) Payment due upon arrival, CASH only! Sorry, we can no longer accept USD, only local currency. Breakfast and coffee is included, served exclusively between 9.00 – 10.00 am Taxes are included. Directions: Head to the large Artesania market. There is a restaurant Pollo Campero on the corner near, which is near the Artesia market. If you are facing Pollo Campero, walk for 50 meters down the road that is to the left of Pollo Campero. Then take the first road on the left where you will see a black door with the number 42 written on it. You have found A Place To Stay. Alternatively, take a Tuc Tuc (a little three-wheeled car) or regular Taxi to A Place To Stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Place to Stay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing