We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant in Antigua Guatemala”

El Tenedor del Cerro
Ranked #18 of 370 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Antigua Guatemala”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A delightful place to eat, excellent food, good service and a wonderful view of colonial Antigua Guatemala. A wonderful shuttle service to the restaurant from Hotel Casa Santo Domingo for free!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antigua56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the service and food of “El Tenedor”, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and the wonderful view of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    152
    49
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great breakfast with Fantastic Views”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had breakfast here while in Guatemala on business. The views are amazing and the setting and service first class. I wish we had more time to hang out and explore the ground but just walking from the parking lot to the restaurant was amazing. Plenty of floral gardens and different works of art from various artist. The food a service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LSUFAN67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the ambience of Santo Domingo del Cerro and the food of its restaurant. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the Fuss is about”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view is outstanding, but outside of that we were VERY disappointed. While the shuttle is free, please note that it has no sides and is only covered by a canopy. During our ride it started to downpour and we were drenched by the time we arrived to the restaurant. We were dropped off in the dark and not told how to get to the restaurant, nor that there are open air passageways and that we would continue to get wet.....All through this I was still hopeful but it only went downhill - if that is possible. There was more than enough wait staff yet they all stood around joking with each other and while they could obviously see that we were soaked they never approached us to offer some type of assistance to dry ourselves off; let alone ask us if we wanted to be seated. Only when I spoke to them in Spanish were we even acknowledged. We were seated and once again I need to interrupt there "social hour" to get someone to take our drink order.......this type of service continue throughout the remainder of the evening and the food was not worth it. If were not "trapped" on hill due to the weather we would have walked out. One of the worst dining experiences I have ever had!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We regret to know that you had such a bad experience, please accept our most sincere apologies for not providing the service you deserved. We will follow up in the matter and hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you go there, better to go on Sundays in the morning to enjoy the buffet as there is lots to choose from.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting el Cerro de Santo Domingo; we are pleased to know you liked the Sunday Buffet and hope that on your next visit, you enjoy the rest of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go for the view and sculpture garden spend a relaxing afternoon”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The is a restaurant of the Santa Domingo Hotel. Go to the hotel and take the free shuttle up to their beautiful sculpture garden, park and lounge area. Eat and/or drink if you want. We went for lunch it was fine. 75q for good shrimp fettichini, the view was lovely, the service fine. The food isn't the reason to come here. Come to spend time in this beautiful setting eat a little something have a glass of wine and enjoy the peaceful beauty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank budget_travel_buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comment and hope you visit us again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tenedor del Cerro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to El Tenedor del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing