We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best one on one classes”

New Sensation Salsa Studio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to New Sensation Salsa Studio, the best place to learn to dance salsa while in Antigua.Free Introductory Group Salsa ClassesCome to one of our free introductory group classes, every Monday and Tuesday from 5 PM to 6 PM. A group class is a fun way to check out how much you enjoy salsa, meet our teachers... And maybe make some new friends.Private LessonsWe offer private lessons in salsa, bachata, merengue and cha cha cha at our studio.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've done a few classes and I have to say that Sensation was definitely one of the best! Nancy and Frank are so nice and inviting! If there was a salsa night in town they invited us students to go with them. I was only in Antigua a week when I took one-on-one but I came back for a night two months later and took a group class with them I loved it so much!!

Thank d_kin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for New Sensation Salsa Studio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

I arrived in Antigua only planning to stay 2 weeks, I thought 'yea, I'll do some salsa while I'm here'.... 3 months later I was still there, and everyday I was dancing Salsa and Bachata with the THE best and most enthusiastic teacher I could've asked for, Nancy.

I litterally knew nothing before showing up to the studio, and to be honest I was terrible... terrible terrible :/... Nancy was soo patient with me, she really understood my way of learning and adjusting to new steps, because like I said... I was bad.

But, with Nancy and a little bit of persistance I am now comfortable to dance, there's still so much to learn but really it was a privilege to be taught by Nancy.... I did 50hours of lessons and I want more, Bachata and Salsa are both addictive. Nancy really was and still is one of my great friends in Antigua and I'll definitely be going back to dance again.

I can't reccomend Nancy and Frank enough, they're both really passionate and extremely hard working people. Enjoy.

ps. if you're going to visit and want to dance, I'd try to book ahead, by the time I left Nancy was pretty busy, not to say you won't get the chance to dance that is.

Thank simonschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancySalsa, Propietario at New Sensation Salsa Studio, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014
Google Translation

simonnnnnn yu eres mas que un alumno eres un amigo muy especial y me encato ver como cresiste en la salsa eres una persona fantastica y continua bailando porke lo haces muy muy bien besos y buen año salsero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I took 20 private lessons with Nancy, who owns the New Sensation Salsa Studio in Antigua, and am absolutely happy that I had the chance to learn/dance with her!! Her passion for music and dancing is contagious and incredibly motivating!!

Besides her great personality, Nancy is a fantastic teacher, very professional in her teaching, patient and motivating!! Her energy and great sense of humor make dancing with her even more fun!!!

Depending on how many lessons you take, you can get discounts on the usual rates (per hour). If you don´t want to take private lessons there is of course the possibility to take group lessons. And for all who are not sure if salsa is the right thing for them or want to get to know Nancy and her partner Frank before spending money on classes, they can go to one of the free salsa lessons offered on certain days of the week.

The great thing about New Sensation Salsa Studio is also that both, Nancy and Frank, are very keen on connecting you with the Salsa community in Antigua. So you have a lot of opportunities where you can practice your recently learned Salsa moves :)!

For anybody who wants to learn salsa, I can wholeheartedly recommend to take lessons with New Sensation Salsa Studio, either with Nancy or with Frank. I will definitely go back there when I am in Antigua!!

Thank you Nancy for the great time!!

Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancySalsa, Propietario at New Sensation Salsa Studio, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014
Google Translation

lindaaaaaaa espero sigas bailando que lo haces muy bien te mando mil besos y no te olvides de guatemala que te extraña gracias por tu mensaje aqui y tus lindas palbars cuidate feliz año 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Nancy is an excellent instructor and full of energy, it was great fun to learn from her. I wanted more classes but I had to leave!

Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancySalsa, Propietario at New Sensation Salsa Studio, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014
Google Translation

amigo como va todo en tu viaje gracias por tus buenos comentarios aserca de mi academia y de mi persona fue un placer ser tu maestra y espero ke continues bailando mil besos y que continue la salsa buen año 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nancy and Frank, the teachers at New Sensation, were cheerful, flexible, passionate and so helpful! I have never taken a dance class (let alone a salsa class) but I had always wanted to learn. My friend and I attended a free class with our school and liked the lesson so much we signed up for a class every day of our stay. We took two weeks of classes and the price was very good. We learned so many steps and I will now feel very confident walking into any salsa club in Guatemala or the U.S. One of the added bonuses of taking classes at New Sensation is the additional salsa opportunities they share with you. The teachers told us about many salsa nights at various clubs around Antigua. Without these lessons and the connections with the people at New Sensation, our trip definitely would have lacked something.

Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Sensation Salsa Studio also viewed

Western Highlands, Guatemala
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to New Sensation Salsa Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing