We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beans to Bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Antigua Market Cooking Class and Choco Museum in Antigua
Ranked #4 of 80 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Antigua, Guatemala. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Guatemala. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Guatemalan cacao beans. ChocoMuseo also offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate. A unique experience for the whole family.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beans to Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I highly recommend you take a workshop! Very informative and FUN! You get a guided tour of the museum, and then you get to make your own chocoate!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pamains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    953
    395
    178
    27
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

It's an awesome experience please ask for Marisol for the tour she is the best, cacao is everywhere and you will love it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrod1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

So, i went to Chocomuseo, here in Antigua Guatemala, and i experienced the way the chocolate was made... It was very cool and the instructor made this experience very nice and interesting, you can try the way how mayans and spanish people used to drink the chocolate... And you can also decorate your own chocolate which its pretty great and tasty. Hope you go to this museum and enjoy this experience

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank samlino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Savory and informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

The demonstration area takes you through the process of transforming the cacao fruit into the many stages until it is chocolate. We were most delighted to sample and purchase chocolate teas made from the husk of the roasted seeds.
Then we ordered or savory deserts and were treated to an elegant service of Hot Chocolate in a most unusual manner. Well worth the visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“love chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I did the 2 hour chocolate making tour it was really interesting I would recommend it.. Pablo was a very good teacher he was so passionate about his work and love of chocolate !!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing