We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worthwhile walking tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antigua Tours, Travel & Hotels by Elizabeth Bell - Day Tours

Antigua Tours, Travel & Hotels by Elizabeth Bell - Day Tours
Ranked #12 of 50 Tours in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well worthwhile walking tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the tour. Interesting and informative with plenty of time for questions and have me a feel for Antigua and the confidence to then travel on my own to the surrounding villages by bus.
Found the jade factory interlude actually a welcome break from the heat with an ice cold drink (included) but obviously we lingered there for a purpose. It was very expensive - note that the prices are in US$!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    31
    9
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hike of Pacaya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We found the Antigua Tours office inside Cafe Condesa and booked a private Pacaya tour with them. The driver was on time and very nice, it took us a little bit more than an hour to get there and then met our local guide at the park, they hire local guides to support the nearby communities’ sustainability; he walked with us all the way at our one pace and was very informative. Even though there is no lava right now, we were able to feel the heat on the surface and see the crater smoking; the views from up there are just magnificent! The package also included a delicious box lunch and the entrance fee!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elizabeth Bell Antigua tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

As we were staying in antigua just a few days, we thought it would be a nice idea to take the city tour with Mrs. Bell, reccommended on lonely planet. We couldn't have been more disappointed with our guide. Mrs. Elizabeth was so not welcoming or enthusiastic...Even though we were only in 2 couples, she didn't care to shake our hand or ask for our names. Litterally she run us through 5 or 6 buildings and gave us a standard lecture at each of them. The other couple eventually left in the middle of the tour. Almost no explanations about the city where given in between buildings. Of the 3 hours available, 1/2 an hour was spent in one of the many empty Jade shops being presented products that we didn't wnat to buy and had nothing to do with the tour (China touristic tour style). Other 15 min at her office, so we could buy one of her books...I really didn't like it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua_Tours_Office, Manager at Antigua Tours, Travel & Hotels by Elizabeth Bell - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We focus on Community Leadership at City Hall, big changes in the last 15 years at the Palace of the Captains General, in-depth information at the Cathedral, a cultural view of immortality from Maya jade and the best museums at the Santo Domingo. We regret that they were disappointed– we do our best to bring the city to life. I sometimes shake hands – I don’t ask people’s names although I ALWAYS ask what their special are interests are to focus on those. No special interests on this particular day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Watch out for transport to Lake Atitlán”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Taking a one-day tour to Lake Atitlán - which is very worthwhile as such -, the agency booked us on a shared subcontracted transport. The latter arrived very late in Panajachel (town for boat trips) so that the ongoing trip turned out quiet improvised.
While sharing our experience the following day, we were told that one of the agency's own buses had had a break-down, reason for which the above-mentioned rearrangement had to be made (without previous notice to us). We also got a partial refund upon the agency's initiative.
All in all, we advise potential clients to clarify the means of transport to Panajachel previous to any booking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua_Tours_Office, Manager at Antigua Tours, Travel & Hotels by Elizabeth Bell - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We don’t subcontract often and we handpick any third party we work with. We will definitely review this with them to avoid this happening again. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Hope to see you in Antigua soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

With two degrees in Latin American history, I rarely take tours. One exception is Elizabeth Bell’s Antigua tour. Given her 30 year involvement in preservation efforts there, her insight is phenomenal.

I also took her tours of Tikal and the Pacaya volcano. The excellent guides obviously like what they are doing. I particularly enjoyed talking with the Pacaya guide, from whom I received insight into village life that I have never obtained elsewhere.

One of the joys of traveling is meeting interesting people. My guides from Antigua Tours certainly fall into this category.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GLDilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antigua Tours, Travel & Hotels by Elizabeth Bell - Day Tours also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Antigua Tours, Travel & Hotels by Elizabeth Bell - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing