We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Food in Guatemala”

El Cazador Italiano
Ranked #28 of 370 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Guatemala”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A true Italian chef, Luciano can be heard singing in the kitchen, in native tongue. He continues to turn out creations to peak your taste buds. We have been regular customers for three years and cannot suggest a better restaurant here or in the United States. Prices are competitive with other first rate places. So if your on the cheap eat Luciano's pizza, it is wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fairwayfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    87
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great pizza And more”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is definitely one of the best (Italian restaurants) in Antigua. It is a bit hidden behind the cathedral but absolutely worth the search. We had the tomatoes and mozzarella which was superb followed by a pizza. All very good in a nice atmosphere.
They could do with another washroom.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga tn
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I keep going back...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

and I'm never disappointed at El Cazador. The space is not large, and the upstairs is divided into two rooms so it is a little cozier than some other dining options in Antigua. The night I had dinner there the crowd was mostly young Guatemalan couples sharing the thin crust pizzas. The rest of the menu is entirely Italian fare, pastas, gnocchi, and, I think, risotto.
I had sweet potato gnocchi served with lamb sauce studded with chevre. As one reviewer previously noted, the gnocchi has a very soft consistency. I liked it; she didn't. The portion was sufficient, the sauce richly flavored, but, carnivores beware, there was not a lot of lamb in the dish. The lack of lamb was more than made up for by the generous scoops of Chevre. To obtain a textural contrast I tried a side of sauteed green beans. They were sublime--sweet and crispy tender. I wished I had grown them in my own garden.
Seems to be GLBT friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bafChattanoogaTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Try the gnocchi!!! Super salads, perfect pizza, good service, really nice ambiance. Every time we're in Antigua we go to eat here - and we're a family of VERY picky eaters!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was the most expensive meal we had here and the quality was no different. I felt like the owner didn't want to socialize with anyone. The gnocchi was very mushy, like rolled up mashed potatoes. The pasta was good, but not for the prices. The waiter was kind and helpful and attentive. I didn't walk out of there saying Wow, great food. I walked out saying wow, way too expensive for that! There are many other choices that are better and more reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antioquia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cazador Italiano also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to El Cazador Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing