We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tretto Caffe

Tretto Caffe
Ranked #15 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Antigua
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been in Antigua for almost half a year, and I have literally been to every last Cafe in this town. There are a few good spots, but Tretto easily outguns them all with spectacular coffee and baristas who are quite talented and knowledgable about the roasts they serve up.

To top it all off, the owner, Frosty, is really creative! I have come in countless times and just asked him to "surprise me" with a new roast or flavor, and it has always been outstanding. Everyone who works here is incredibly passionate about coffee and it shows.

The shop itself is cozy and decorated with work from local artists. It sits across the street from beautiful Tanque La Union, literally 2 blocks from the center of Antigua. This is a can't miss if you're visiting Antigua.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nepstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

small, private environment on a balcony overlooking the ruins. Food and service were excellent. Can't imagine what an experience like this might cost in the states. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
“Best coffee in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great coffee, nice people and awesome pastry! Try the raspberry white chocolate cheesecake:-) it is the best! Been here for a couple of months now, so I had a lot of time to check out this very small town and its coffee. After one month of searching for THE BEST I can promise you, you will find it at tretto! check it out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenAckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coffee, what can I say HMMMM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I found this one day heading to Sky Cafe and I stopped by almost every third day for coffee. The cubana was very tasty and fulfilling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enrique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected coffee mecca place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went to Tretto cause I heard other traveller mentioning the coffe there was good. Being a coffee addict myself, I went there to check it out. I was expecting a normal coffee shop, as you can find in any touristy town, but I found much more than that. First of all it is small, extremely small and the good review it gets is certainly not for the fancy setting it has, simply because the permises are not fancy.
If Tretto has such good review, it because it offers somethig else: it is a coffee place, where you don't come here because its fancy, nor because it is the fastest wifi in town, but simply because they are real coffee lovers, and coffee connoisseurs. This is what makes this place so special, cause the guys behind the counter actually knows perfectly what they are talking about, and they are fanatic about it.
If you like coffee or are curious to discover more about it, you have to go there, you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lespassengers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tretto Caffe also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Tretto Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing