We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Lunch Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metiz Delicatessen y Bistro

Metiz Delicatessen y Bistro
Ranked #28 of 345 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: French Bistro few meter from central park. We are very famous for ours gourmet sandwiches, pastas and salads. We have also tradicional french dishes, without forget ours numerous delicatessen products as imported ham and cheese, dessert, pates and rillettes... A place to visit for the food lovers. Always at the best price
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I come to Antigua often where I lead groups for a non-profit I work with. We go to the Jade store next door to this restaurant often, so I decided to try this for lunch. It was just divine! The menu is sophisticated and delicious. I ate the Italiano Sandwich with Rustic wheat bread. The pesto and tomatoes and mozzarella were so fresh, and the bread was just perfect. The salad to accompany it and a side of chips was the perfect amount of food.

I loved sitting by the window and catching the street action and beautiful Antiguan views as well- it's perfectly quaint, and a must stop-in luck spot for the lone-traveler or for friends. Easy, quick and delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    53
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“we ate here twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

the owner is obviously a foodie so to speak. Great quality and detail. As a couple we consumed 4 different items during our 2 visits, and each was excellent. The bread on my sandwich was some of the best I have ever had. And no worry about eating a salad from this place. They are included with the sandwich plates and I ate both of them with no problems. Would not eat salads in most places in Guatemala. I am getting hungry writing this review

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Petit France in Antigua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This place is so good. Ordinary ingredients blended together to make extraordinary food. Sandwiches are simply amazing. They have the food souvenirs you wish you could take home from Europe. From the curated hams, to the rillette, and the macaroons. You couldn't get tired. You definitely should give it a try or three

Helpful?
Thank ocmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this French-turned-Guatemalan's delicious bistro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Just off of Central Park in downtown Antigua, Benjamin Metiz creates and serves some of the best food I've ever eaten. Lunch, dinner, dessert - all 3?! And don't miss his fancy spices in their creative containers...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DariaGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've been to Metiz many times and each time I'm pleasantly surprised. They offer composed, unpretentious dishes. Simply put - they just have great food.

Go here for delicious pastas, salads and sandwiches. Always a delight and I'll be back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metiz Delicatessen y Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Metiz Delicatessen y Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing