We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local artisan's, fair trade”

Casa de los Gigantes
Ranked #6 of 35 Shopping in Antigua
Attraction details
north america
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“local artisan's, fair trade”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

this is one of the few places you can go to purchase fair trade products by local artisan groups. you will pay more, but it was not made by some kid chained to a loom or being paid 2 centavos for each product they make and 0 centavos if there is a mistake.

other reviews state that you need to beware of low quality products they sell. well, any store will have their variety of products. this is no exception. purchase with discretion.

i would say their products are uniformly high quality and worth at least a look if not more. we always make the effort to visit this shop every time we visit antigua. this time, however, they did not have the large 'gigante' mannequins standing out front. previous years they have been there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank horace b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware of poor quality teak products”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I purchased a $350 teak wood butcher block from this store and after five months the wood spontaneously developed many cracks. Also the legs of the butcher block table separated from the frame. Seems like the wood they used was not dried properly and when it starts to dry out it shrinks and cracks. Now the table is almost useless and I asked the owner Siggy for a refund but she just ignored all my emails. Also purchased another teak wood item there that warped and cracked. This store is one of the most expensive in Antigua but they use shoddy materials and do not stand behind their products or give refunds. Not recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place in town to shop”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

With an enormous collection of high quality crafts and souvenirs, this is my favorite store in town. We go there almost weekly to check out new additions. And our Antigua home is full of lovely purchases including statues, jewelry, dishes, clothes. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Letty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Seek this place out.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at a hotel close here and was surprised with the quality and prices. Besides, Nim Po't Centro de Textiles Tradicionales, which is by the famous Arco/arch- this is the best place to buy real products made by quality vendors. Must go to these two places and almost no need to go elsewhere.
The mercado or artists market is interesting and cool but varies greatly in prices and quality- go behind to the food market/stalls for a real vision of what local do and eat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SGHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Unique handcrafted items”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Here you'll find a wide variety of handcrafted items from all over Guatemala displayed in a few rooms - wonderful place to wander.

The items are higher quality than what you'll find in the markets - these aren't mass produced. This shop is well worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MPinWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de los Gigantes also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Casa de los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing