We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun atmosphere, attractive place, wonderful food, vegetarian options, and my favorite beer”

La Cuevita de Urquizu
Ranked #114 of 355 Restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Latin, Guatemalan, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, attractive place, wonderful food, vegetarian options, and my favorite beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We loved this restaurant of "tipica" food and dined here -- along, for the most part, with an exclusively Latin American crowd -- on a Sunday afternoon. The food was fabulous and there were many healthy, vegetarian options.

(I'm one of those who believe that when you've found an 'ethnic' restaurant visited by the ethnicities in question, you're more likely to have found the real thing, and thus also, the best food).

The staff were, also, very helpful in pointing out the vegetarian options...which, if you're vegetarian and have tried eating in many Latin America restaurants, you know can be tough. (Many servers don't even understand the word "vegetarian" when spoken in Spanish!, let alone in English).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    39
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I really enjoy this place. Came during spring break. My friends and I ordered all of their traditional plates (5 of us 5 plates) and we tried each other's food. Was not disappointed with the taste or the service. When our food was served they were friendly and asked if we needed anything else. They even brought my food to the table, sometimes they give it to you to bring to the table (they also pack things to go if you ask them too). They have a traditional menu if you want to order things like pupusas or apps. I think the best experience of this place is ordering off the front corridor looking at them serve you. The waiter was asking if everything was good or if we needed something else. He wasn't hovering but if I needed him he was close by. Will definitely go again, don't know when because prizes (at least for dinner) were a little high.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank world_citizen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should have gone here the first day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The food are tortillas were excellent, the service prompt and friendly. Looks like a "hole in the wall" from the street, at first glance, but that initial impression belies the first-rate restaurant inside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooks_Walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Guatemalan food... Period.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Look, Guatemalan food is not going to knock anyone's socks off. Sometimes it is really good, but usually it consists of over-salted meat, beans, and rice. La Cuevita is definitely an exception. The food there, while a bit more spendy than other typico serving places, is worth it. The stews are amazing, but more over, everything I put in my mouth was great. You have a lot to choose from and what is great is you get to see it before you order it. It is really a don't miss if you are traveling to Antigua for any period of time. I would say that even if you are in Antigua for a day, go here for lunch... you will not be disappointed. It is as good as Guatemalan food gets!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good Guatemalan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Delicious meal with a buffet of Guatemalan dishes. Nice atmosphere, mid-range prices. Great place for lunch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicaSpouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuevita de Urquizu also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to La Cuevita de Urquizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing