We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with great stuff”
Review of The Terrace Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Terrace Hostel
Ranked #21 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with great stuff”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have enjoyed my stay at The Terrace Hostel! First of all you consider staying at The Terrace is for the view. Antigua is beautiful for its historical look and the surrounding volcanos. From The Terrace you can look at the precious nature jewel volcano Aqua and the remaining two as well while sipping a tasty cuba libre for Q10 at an extensive happy hour.
The stuff at The Terrace was great with great partys and I guess in Antigua is every time something going on! The rooms are smaller though. We stayed at a 4 bed dorm. The hostel space is divided into two levels with 2 showers altogether so better 'shot gun' your shower time ;-)
See you next time The Terrace!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaVasinkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuateClaypoole, Owner at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its the best way to find out if we need to make any improvements. Rooms do vary in sizes as this property was converted from a home. As to showers we have one the first floor and two on the second. Granted one of the showers is located in a private room. Given that we are not a huge hostel and the various sleeping habits of our guest, the wait times for showers are normally not an issue.

Once again, thank you for choosing the terrace and your kind words regarding our staff.

Best,

Steven and the Terrace Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    53
    41
    19
    19
See reviews for
3
48
101
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The stay here was nice. I stayed in a private room with private bathroom and I had no problem at all. My friends stayed in a 4 person dorm and the problem was that the room was really small and it was humid. The shared bathrooms where not that well cleaned but for a backpacker it is fine. The terrace was really nice, without this I don't think I will go back to this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuateClaypoole, Owner at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very helpful. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the private. As to the dorm room, we have to deal with the elements during rainy season. The combination of heat and rain produces humidty. HVAC units are nearly non existent in the highlands of Guatemala. We do have fans available for guest use.

Restrooms are cleaned a couple times a day by our staff. And, they are cleaned more often when we have more patrons which is often the case. Once again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed for two nights at this hostel and it is nice place, good atmosphere, very clean, friendly staff and it is a good place to relax and have nice time on the Terrace with the happy hours.
Bekki and Nanna the managers are excellent hostlers. It is a place to recommend.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IFMA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuateClaypoole, Owner at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Nanna and Bekki really are an asset to our team. We are glad you enjoyed our Terrace Bar. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Antigua. Safe travels!

Best Regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised we had such a different experience to so many who have given the terrace such a good review. We found it dank and dingy with unpleasant rooms and worse bathrooms. The staff were reasonably helpful but overall it was a lowlight of Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncanturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuateClaypoole, Owner at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are equally disapointed that your experience did not match that of the many others who love our hostel. That said, we have recently repainted every room with the exception of a private that stays booked, making it hard to get into. We do use low energy bulbs for a number of reasons. Firstly, there is a trend toward more effecient bulbs. They simply use less energy. Secondly, from a more practical reason is that in the dorms its less instrusive to other guest as they enter and leave the room.

It would have been helpful if you would have identified the room you stayed in during your stay. Equally helpful, had you an issue with your room we would have been happy to move you to another room. Or, if necessary, refund your money so you could find other accomendations with our assistance of course.

We are sadly disappointed that our hostel did not meet your expectations. We wish you safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

The Terrace Staff and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

First and most important Bed Bugs. The rooms are very small, dark and the bathroom was not clean.
I also did not like the fact that they demand you to leave your passport and when I said I did not want to do so I was told by the receptionist that these are the rules. As I do not feel comfortable about this I asked why and I was informed it was because of my tab. I did not want a tab and I also mention this is illegal and not a good proceeding. She tried to make it seem normal saying its like this and its normal everywhere. This is not true, I've been staying in many hostels and in many places with tabs and nowhere ever people demand to keep my passport. Its a safety privacy issue. When I tried to told her that she was really rude to me. It is not a nice place and it was not a good way to welcome anyone. I just stayed for one night and left immediately. I really did not like her attitude specially because at the end of the day if you work in a hostel you should always be nice to your guests and if you don't like people complaining about something that is so obviously wrong, just change it, don't drop your frustration in your guests. If you are close to the stairs to the terrace you cant sleep because of the noise of the stairs. here are much better terraces in Antigua for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was by far one of the most fun hostel experiences I have ever had. I am already planning my next trip back. The staff is just incredible! From the moment we arrived, we were having way too much fun. I immediately felt extremely safe and right at home. Everyone gave us great advice on things to do in the city as well as a free drink as soon as we arrived! To be honest, the roof top bar was probably one of my favorite spots in Antigua. It attracts all sorts of travelers/locals/other guests which was a huge plus for me. It also has amazing views and cheap drinks (their happy hour is noon to 9pm!) Not to mention the food is awesome as well. And free breakfast! JP can cook a mean hamburger too.

Luckily my friend and I happened to be there for a Antigua futbol game! It was probably one of the top five days of my life! We went with some staff members and one of the wonderful owners Maggie and had the time of our lives. Seriously I wish I could even put into words how much fun my experience there was. The owners and staff truly care about making your experience the best as possible. Everyday they have something going on whether it be a pub crawl, futbol game, live music, etc. We were really sad we missed the Monday night pub crawl. So if you want to meet amazing people and have a blast for an affordable price, this hostel is perfect for you!

Thanks again to everyone at The Terrace for being so amazing! We cannot wait to come back with an even bigger crew!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieSueMoMo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review. We are glad you had an amazing experience here at The Terrace and especially got to go with us to the football. This is a must-do when staying with us. We wish you safe travels from all the family here at The Terrace and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is awesome, it simply got everything you need for a fair price.
First of all the staff, they're such a good people. They are so friendly and do care about their guests. They even tell you where is the party or invite you to a nice walk in the city.
Secondly the food, what a delicious breakfast and hamburguers, yummy! =)
The hostel is very safe, the do have security cameras and during the night they have a guard.
The bar at the top of the building is awesome, from there you can easily see the Volcan de Agua, Volcan Acatenango and Volcan de Fuego. Of course the parties are great, live music, good drinks, beers, food and friendly people.

Me and my best friend went there for 5 days and WE LOVE IT! We definitely want to go back to the Terrace Hostel. Of course we already recommended to our friends.
Thanks to María, Gloria and María for their delicious breakfast; Maggie and Nanna for being so caring about us; and Juan Pablo (the bartender) for the party recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Bedoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We very much appreciate names mentioned of the staff who gave you great service, the people mentioned are very pleased!

We do try to make everyone feel part of our family and we are proud to know you felt this way.

Enjoy your travels and hope to see you back down this way soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#13 of 105 in Antigua
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 105 in Antigua
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Hostel

Property: The Terrace Hostel
Address: 3rd Street West 24-B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to have a good time and meet new friends, look no further than The Terrace Hostel! We promise guests clean rooms, spectacular views of the city and volcanoes, free WI-FI, guest lounge with TV & DVD collection, and the best and cheapest bar in Antigua! We offer a big variety of Breakfast with Smoothies, Coffee or Micheladas. We also advise and organize daily tours in and around Antigua, and offer helpful and friendly advice for further travel in Central America. Our rooftop terrace is home to our Terrace Bar & Grill.. Our bar features the cheapest and longest happy hour in town, the best grilled burgers as well Quesadillas and our new Thai Chicken Wrap, Pub Crawls, and Themed Parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Terrace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing