We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Senero Restaurant, the perfect place for Ambience”

Restaurante El Sereno
Ranked #148 of 355 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: European, Guatemalan, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: the restaurante el sereno is housed in one of the most magnificent colonial residences of antigua guatemala. built in the century, it was home the royal mercedarian orden while its members were overseeing the construction of their church elsereno was founded in 1980 and became one of the firs gourmet restaurants festuring both national and international cuisiene in the city of antigua. la casa donde esta ubicado el sereno, fue contruida en tiemos de los mercedarion en el siglo xvi y fue residencia de los sacerdores que construin la iglesia de la merced en esa ipoca. el restaurante el sereno fue fundado en 1980 como uno de los primeros restaurante de cocina gourmet en la antigua
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“El Senero Restaurant, the perfect place for Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The restaurant El Sereno Offers the most savory meals and prepared to perfection. This was certainly a night to remember while in Antigua. A typical dinner of meat and potatoes was out of this world! The decor and fireplaces give the dining rooms a warm comfortable feeling. The perfect setting for a special occasion, wedding party or large gathering as well as a cozy romantic atmosphere for two and the terrace has a great view of the sunset over the volcanoes. A must if visiting Antigua.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING VIEW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Quiet, panoramic view of the city. Great drinks and a great place for a romantic get a way. The staff graciously gave us a view of one of the hotel rooms although we were there for a meal. The rooms were small, but immaculate and had a little Christmas tree. It looked to be comfortable. Our meal was good and we will return to this place. We ate upstairs not in the main dining area which was large. Little expensive, but food was worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“On looks alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Antiguaa mystery, charm and fun lay in exploring all the nooks and crannies. While wandering thru town I am notorious for stepping into every open doorway for peek. We were greeted but a wonderful little man who implored us to come in. Even though it was not open yet for lunch he gave us a tour of the property. It's vey beautiful and unique. I have spent the last year racking my brain tiring to remember its name! It's on our list dine at during our next visit in 10 days. Again we haven't eaten here yet but the menu looks quite interesting and it is so very lovely am sure we will enjoy it

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's possibly the most expensive restaurant in Antigua but it's worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had diner at El Sereno because we read the reviews. I enjoyed the steak. It was a bit raw and most people would send it back, but it's better that they give it to you under cooked than well done. The meat was very tender and I liked the way it was cooked.
It is a very large restaurant with different areas and rooms. We would like to visit again during daylight to see the view from the terrace. It's probably a great place to visit before sunset. When we left, a wedding party of about 25 people arrived, so the restaurant caters to elegant events in the different rooms.
The price for a diner is $25 to $50 per person. During daylight, I think you can get a drink on the terrace, which you must walk up about 30 steps but the view is great if it's not cloudy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stanvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There is lots of romantic appeal at this restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Good restaurant for tapas. Knowing some Spanish is helpful when ordering though. Wonderful rooftop bar with lots of atmosphere. Also a cave for adventurous diners. Very attractive restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerrySt_Paul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Sereno also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Restaurante El Sereno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing