We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of KIDS Restaurant

KIDS Restaurant
Ranked #176 of 355 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Guatemalan, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Kids restaurant is a part of the educational centre the Tess Unlimited. The kids who come to the center to have englsih clas, computer class and cooiking class, can practice their skills 2 a month when we open the restaurant. This is where the kids can practice what they have been learning in classes. The prepare the food and serve it to the guests. Every kid can find themself a reason to come to kids restaurant!
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The KIDS restaurant is a wonderfull project runned by the non profit organization TESS UNLIMITED. The restaurant serves delicious food prepared AND served by local children from the little town of San Gaspar. All the kids working in the restaurant and the kitchen have classes four times a week to practice their restaurant skills and learn english. The menu´s are carefully selected and rotate every two week, with another country as theme. They even pick you up and bring you back to Antigua! All earnings and donations go directly to the future education of the KIDS. Dining here was a wonderfull experience which I can highly recommend to each tourist in Antigua! Great atmosphere, great service, great food. A perfect way to contribute to the future of these kids.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lottezoontjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Muy Bien Restuarante”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We really enjoyed the KIDS restaurant. We went 4 times. Every time a different country's food!! The kids were very polite and really worked hard. I loved that the kids were getting life skills and working on their English. A very worthwhile project. We will go again next time we are in Antigua!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lastcall312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing project, will warm your heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Enjoyed the food as much as any I have had in Antigua in the past 3 weeks. Was an experience beyond the food. Very pleasant ambiance. Theme for the meal was Indonesian food. Beautifully presented and well prepared. The service was impeccable. If only life could be full of food and experiences such as this. If you´re in Antigua on a Friday, don´t miss this.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal so far in Antigua . . . and most fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were whisked to the restaurant in minutes on their free shuttle from the Central Park in Antigua, chatting with a fascinating group of local residents and tourists on the way. The meal was a sumptuous all-you-can-eat feast of Indonesian food (the theme for the week) with dessert, cooked and served to us by the earnest and so-cute Guatemalan children who are learning English, good nutrition, world cultures, and valuable business skills in this restaurant school. And it's one of the best bargains in Antigua. Your palate will be happy and you will have a good feeling for supporting this great project - and have a chance to meet the enterprising woman behind it all, Tess. The children have been getting instruction from chefs in the kitchens of some of the best restaurants in town, and it shows - they aspire to open their own restaurants some day.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kherbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The diner is perfect, atmosphere is very well! Everybody is very happy and friendly. Every 2 weeks there is a different theme of food. On one of the days we went was the theme Arabia, so there was a bellydancer, that was awesome!! We really enjoyed. Another theme was Argentina & Thailand. When you are in Guatemala, you really have to take diner in this restaurant, it's a very special experience, for you and for those kids!
Enjoy & buen provecho

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela-tessunlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KIDS Restaurant also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to KIDS Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing