We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee as it should be”

The Refuge Coffee Bar
Ranked #4 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Antigua
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Description: A small quality driven coffee bar. Sits on the Tanque De la Union park with a beautiful view of the Agua Volcano.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coffee as it should be”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Best place if you really want to taste real coffee, i mean if you are not interested in to try something with artificial flavors. Plus open mic nights on Thursdays are simply awesome!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jdstick98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    27
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The refuge is the best place for coffee in Antigua hands down. The atmosphere is awesome and the people always make you feel welcome!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jossiegregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“You can find better places for coffee than this one. The service was terrible”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

It is good coffee but the overall experience was not what i was expecting having read most posts here on tripadvisor. most places that i have visited in Antigua have amazing coffee too so i would not rate it higher than a one, it really is not worth it. We walked in at 4 pm on a quiet day and there was not so much as a 'welcome' from the barista. We love Antigua for its warm service and friendly people, this was not transmitted at the refuge coffee bar. There was no suggestions, no explanations.. Well no service.. We ordered a signature coffee and an iced coffee . Their signature coffe was very nice and their cold coffee was bitter, i had a hard time finding the word for sweetner in spanish to ask the barista for it and he didnt even offer to guess what i was after. Another client had to help me out after a terrible verbal description of the item. He shook his head and that was that no alternatives offered... We were not impressed. I would not reccommend, its small and the lack of the 'friendly vibe' that i've been reading on other posts.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One delicious cup”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

One of the best cups of coffee I’ve ever had (outside of Italy). Definitely recommend stopping here for a cup.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice place! Wrong directions. ”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Great coffee, free wi-fi, nice ambiance. Just note it's a block or two farther south than it says on the map. 7th Ave N between 3rd and 4th Calle.

Helpful?
Thank BarryRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refuge Coffee Bar also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to The Refuge Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing