We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcoming Gathering Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Refuge Coffee Bar

The Refuge Coffee Bar
Ranked #4 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating
Description: A small quality driven coffee bar. Sits on the Tanque De la Union park with a beautiful view of the Agua Volcano.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Welcoming Gathering Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Mostly I like the ambiance—friendly baristas, friendly customers, available newspapers. My coffee-drinking friends love the coffee here. I am a tea drinker and would prefer a better brand of tea (like MyTeaFine, rather than Stash).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank moemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    24
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Put it on your list...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Superbly tasty brew, poured with velvetty microfoam milk. So. damn. good! Like coffee back in Oz. Free Wi-fi is icing on the cake

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bebek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I love coffee. I buy it anytime I am near the growers. I love drinking coffee. In Guatemala Coffee is everywhere but I was surprised at this little place. The coffee is prepared the same way as everywhere else and yet the coffee is so dark, rich, robust...for a coffee lover this place is not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mapybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee, great owner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a true coffee shop. Pour over and espresso only. You know you're in for a treat when the first thing you see is a roaster...

The owner is very friendly, we wish we could have hung out for longer.

Cappuccino was great, as was the Americano. I wish we could have gone back for an espresso... Next time we're in Antigua, we'll be back...

Don't miss this coffee shop!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tommydphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Coffee Good Service was slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't go here if your in a rush but coffee was good.

Not a lot of room to hang out & relax either so great for a coffee to go option

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeeandKateAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refuge Coffee Bar also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to The Refuge Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing