We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Antigua
Nearby Hotels
$196
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Rafael Hotel(Antigua)
$125
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
$250
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lo De Bernal(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Encantada(Antigua)
$179
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
75
63
15
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
63
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig dormprivate roomnight's sleepbook shuttlesnice rooftoppeace and quietnice staythe main squareupstairs terracefew minutes walkcomfortable bedshot showerthree nightslockershostelwifiguatemala
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 165 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I spent about 3 months staying at the Hostal Antigua (September to November 2011+/-), so I guess I must have liked it. Compared to the other options in Antigua Guatemala, it's a pretty good deal. There are 2 dorms with 4 beds, and one big dorm that sleeps 12. There's also about 4 private rooms for two or three people each. All the rooms have their own toilet and shower, which is nice, and much better than sharing with the entire hostel or hotel. The hot water is by electric shower head in some rooms, including the 4 bed dorms, but in the big dorm and the room next to it there is an on-demand hot water system, so the shower can be as hot or hard as you want.

The front desk is very helpful, and will give directions and help figuring things out. The mattresses are more or less new, which is nice, and pretty rare around here. While I was there they put in more lockers, so every dorm bed has one now. The roof-top kitchen is a good, fun place to cook, but it's pretty small, so finding space around dinner time can be tough.

The TV's all have cable, which means about 5 channels with shows in English, and the rest in Spanish. That's great for a day or two, but it's very easy to get sucked in by the TV. The wifi is fine when there are only a couple people using it, but if everyone wants to video-Skype home it can slow to a crawl.

The way this place really shines, though, is through the extras. The entire place is cleaned every day. The beds in the dorms are made, floors and sometimes walls scrubbed, kitchen cleaned from top to bottom, bathrooms spotless, every single day. Even more than that, though, on check in--even in the dorms--they hand you a towel and a bar of soap, like a real hotel. Then every day you get a new towel. It's a nice change from a camp towel, sarong, or the one-towel-as-long-as-you're-here deal most places have.

Finally, it's close enough to the square to feel like you're near the action, without being right on it. It's quiet at night, and they've got someone in the office 24 hours a day, with the front door locked after dark for security. Also, while I was there, they put in security cameras. They only film inside, not on the street outside, but it felt very safe.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the quietest and on the on-demand hot water system, not electric shower head.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazyjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

After getting screwed by Hotel Bucaros, we had to scramble to find a new place in Antigua. Looked at a dozen places, and this was the best bet for the money. Paid about $27 per night for a private room with cable TV, awesome hot water shower (full heat, full water pressure, no annoying electronic showerhead), private bathroom, free purified water and daily maid service with new towels each day. Location is great, staff is friendly, cool atmosphere, good wifi connection and rooftop area with shared kitchen. Best value for money. They also have dorms but can't comment on those as did not see them. All this said, their travel agency is super expensive, so book elsewhere for shuttles and such. Otherwise, a top choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at Hostal Antigua in August 2011. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the common space is sunny and simple. Breakfast is not included, but there is a small kitchen on the roof top (with view) or plenty of cafés in town...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We are currently staying in the Hostal Antigua, I am writing this from room #4. It is a clean place with the amenities you'd expect.

Our only disappointment so far has been in the price. The website lists a private room with bathroom for $27/night if you use their website (3rd party) reservation system and then about $3 less if you do it in person. I did mine in person and was not only charged the $27/night but also a 10% surcharge because I used my credit card instead of cash. I recommend that you reserve on the website where you can pay with your card and avoid the extra 10% fee they attach here.

The staff is excellent. We had to cancel our trip to Panajachel because of poor road conditions so we had to extend our stay here for 4 days (about 2 too many for this town). The front desk has been very helpful in giving us other nearby locations to visit. The location is excellent also, a block and a half down from the main plaza. The WiFi has been excellent for us, as good as any wifi can be, and there is a computer in the front desk area that cost Q5 per hour (or so). The terrace does have an open drop to the corridor so you have to be careful but the covered patio on top is nice for visiting with other guests and the adjacent kitchen is just what they promised.

Would I return here? Maybe, I may shop around. I didn't like the price switching. But all in all, it's okay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PicnPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here for our first week in Antigua. The room was ok with a huge bathroom but an electric heater on the shower head I.e. If you want hot water you cannot use high pressure. No breakfast hut we like to choose our own. The wifi worked well enough for us but the service is patchy full stop. Staff were friendly and they a fully stocked fridge with beer and soft drink plus some snacks for sale. Only issue was we used their washing service and they did a pretty poor job. After a week we moved hotels spent a bit more cash and got a much nicer room with a volcano view

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkscience89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hostal Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Everything this reviewer said is true. They stayed 5 nights, for $20 per night. So, for this low price, we are not a 5-star hotel. We are a budget hostel, that tries to be nicer than most other hostels. We have private bathrooms with hot water in all rooms. There are other similar priced hostels in Antigua that do not offer hot water. We offer free Wi-Fi, along with an internet computer for guest to use (this is more than most other hostels offer). We offer laundry service (normally is very good). We wash, dry, fold & put your laundry in your room for $5 per load. This is cheaper than laundry mats, where you have to take time out of your vacation to take it & pick it up. To my knowledge, there are no other hostels that offer laundry service in the hostel to their guest. Yes, we are a buget hostel, and there are many nicer hotels in Antigua where you will have to pay anywhere from a 20 dollars to hundreds of dollars more per night (as this reviewer stated paying more to move to a hotel). So, if you want a nice budget hostel, Hostal Antigua will be great for you (private rooms = $20 & dorm beds = $6), if you want a nicer hotel for $50 or more, you should book there. I just wish this reviewer was comparing us to similar priced options, rather than (unfairly) to higher priced hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews