We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again”
Review of Hostal Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Antigua
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed in Hostel Antigua several times throughout July and August.
Although not the best place for meeting other travellers, it is an ideal hostel for someone seeking good value budget accomodation who prefers a quieter space and does not require a backpacker party type of hostel.
I stayed in 3 different private ensuite rooms which were all very clean, a good size and nicely decorated. The hostel is secure, very close to the centre and yet quiet (none of the rooms overlook the road). The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and by my fourth return greeted me like an old friend!
I plan to return to Central America in the future and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lafeliztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hostel is safe, clean, with piping hot showers, free wifi, a kitchen and really friendly chicas that run the place. It is only 2 blocks from Parque Central and is good value (has TV if you watch Guatemalan TV). Doesn't include breakfast. Would stay here again. The chicas also run all of the tourists services, so you can book shuttles and tours directly through them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiapoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just spent a weekend away with a couple of friends in Antigua so we decided to book a room at Hostal Antigua, we didn't make a bad decision at all! Conchi was extremely helpful, she gave us some tips to do around the city, the hostel is very quiet at night which is a plus, rooftop terrace is awesome with good views of the Volcan de Agua, bus stop is only about 20 steps away from the doorstep, rooms were very well cleaned and mattresses were super comfortable. Will definitely recommend to our other friends!

Room Tip: Any book you room, either a double or 4 beds, you're gonna have a good time there!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmr9014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed there in May for 3 days while I was visiting my sponsored child, Stefany*children intl, in Guatemala, City. Guatemala City, has more risk of violence, is more expensive and just not comfortable for me. Easy bus service to Guatemala City.

I had been in Antigua several times before and found it a lot more crowded and full of traffic than I remembered. However, its charm and the old volcano seen to the south is a landmark. A great mix of mestizos and indigenous and maybe too many Americans. I love the Zocalo just 2 blocks away from the Hostal and several breakfasts across from it and made friends with the Prensa Libre news vendor next door* get this paper, as good as any Mexico City paper.

Also, I work out and the Antigua Gym was still there about 4 blocks away, great gym. Kitty korner, there was a new age restaurant, name excapes me, where they have entertainment, talks, used books and great, reasonably priced, simple Guatemalan food. Thank God for the hippie expatriates.

I had some special needs for my mission with my sponsored child, so the excellent Papeleria next to Hostal Antigua and the first class shipping co. a block away, were big pluses for me.
There were great, inexpensive bars and restaurants all over. A more expensive one, if you want luxury is Hotel Antigua, just 2 blocks down. I stayed there twice, Quite expensive.

At Hostal Antigua, I chose to occupy the room alone since I needed a bath due to recovering from an injury. It was still only $22/ night. No food, but there were a couple of birthday parties on open terrace upstairs while I was there. Safe, 24 hr. reception, fairly quiet. Amenities,,e.g., TV etc. not great, but desk was knowledgeable and helpful and one big plus. For $5 US bucks per day you can go 3 blocks across the Zocalo and use the pool and facilities of a good hotel.

I will stay at Hostal Antigua again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dickginnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Staying here was a treat - clean, quiet, staff super helpful and friendly, cost reasonable, centrally located, hot showers. Will definitely return if we get back to Guatemala.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abcteach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Superb staff, rooms and location. Hot showers,quiet and very clean. Kitchen and roof terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DiscerningBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Very clean, hot water with pressure, towel included, excellent service, close to central park

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ainwland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#12 of 112 in Antigua
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#8 of 112 in Antigua
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Vicente
Hotel Posada San Vicente
#17 of 134 in Antigua
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#1 of 112 in Antigua
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Esthela
Villa Esthela
#27 of 112 in Antigua
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#13 of 112 in Antigua
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Antigua

Address: 5th Ave sur # 22, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $13 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Antigua 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hostel, 1 blk from Antigua's Parque Central. Private & dorm rooms w/private bath in each room, cable TV & free fast Wi-Fi. Rooftop terrace with views, kitchen for guest to use, laundry service, secure lockers & travel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing