We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views & feels like home”
Review of Villa Esthela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Esthela
Ranked #27 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed here in January 2012. I loved the hostel. All the guests were very friendly and the hostel felt like home. There are a lot of communal areas like a livingroom with a TV and DVDS which is very comfortable, the kitchen is the best kept and nicest hostel kitchen I have seen! There's another table upstairs, plus the rooftop which is the best part of it all! The views of the city and the volcano are beautiful. The dorm is small but the beds were the most comfortable of all the hostels I stayed at in Guatemala. It's quiet yet it's social.... it's the perfect place to stay. Also the hostel offers the volcano tour for a cheaper price than the tour agencies. They also offer shuttle service to different places and like others said the woman working speaks english really well. You feel safe, at home and all around good about this place when you stay :) I recommend it to anyone going to Antigua!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florentina-nanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Villa Esthela
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in December and found it to be “just ok”. It is relatively clean and central for Antigua but we found the room to be a bit gloomy and noisy. Basically between 11pm and 5am it was fine but found ourselves awakened as the break of dawn by staff(?) chatting into their mobile phones in very loud Spanish. Not great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

It's hard to find a hotel which can talk with in English. But, this one does the job.

I was staying here for a night when I traveled around Guatemala. 30USD for a double room, sounds expensive? No, it's two bed in a room. It's really good price!

Also, what I like most is the view upstairs! Wow, cool views without words. You can look at the stars at night and the mountain far away in the daytime! I love it. Even though I do lived in a better hostel later, but the merits of this hostel cannot be eliminated.

Room Tip: get a double room and you can lock things in.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Antigua. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shared bathroom was very clean, but there was only one on the second floor (which seemed to be enough). Seems like a good place to meet other people, as there is a communal kitchen and a rooftop terrace which has a good view of the volcanoes. The location is a little far out from "central" Antigua, but only by a few minutes walk. There is laundry service nearby. Would recommend this place to anyone who's on a budget!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed at Villa Esthela by myself for a few days in May and had a really relaxing and great experience. The management is all extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful with booking trips up Volcan Pacaya.

Although the kitchen and bathrooms were shared and the room small, everything was spotless, well maintained and full of character. Villa Esthela's long alleyway entrance helps you escape the noise of the central market, bars and restaurants at night, making for .The rooftop bar is a great place to read a day away in a hammock.

Great value for the independent, budget traveler!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenny88blumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielribeiro3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#13 of 112 in Antigua
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#1 of 112 in Antigua
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#8 of 112 in Antigua
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#22 of 112 in Antigua
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaval Hostel
Kaval Hostel
#29 of 112 in Antigua
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Colonial Antigua
Hostal Colonial Antigua
#42 of 112 in Antigua
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Esthela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esthela

Address: Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3 2a, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer both private rooms (singles, doubles, triples) as well as a shared room 'dorm' with 8 beds. All rooms are with shared bathroom. We aim to offer low-priced accommodation for the budget conscience traveler. This means we do not offer any luxuries but always try to have friendly staff, give the best possible service and a clean place to stay. We do have a big rooftop terrace with amazing views of Antigua. And additionally free wifi, reasonably warm showers, free coffee/tea, TV room with DVDs and a kitchen you can use to make your own meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Esthela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing