We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times!”
Review of Mananas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mananas Hotel
Ranked #25 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good times!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A great hostel in Antigua. Very cool town centre is nearby so everything is an easy walk away. The staff here are awesome and the room was great and well priced. There are free drinks and snacks all day long and it is always happy hour for buying drinks and there are often free beers and rums being handed around (I thought the freebies were just when Mexico won a game in the world cup, but apparently not). Great upstairs deck to view the surrounding volcanoes. A cool place to stay for sure!

Room Tip: Dorms were cheaper but the privates were large and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rleggleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for take your time to write this review. And as you know in the Hostal we give the best for all ours lovely guest all the time. Regards, Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    45
    11
    12
    14
See reviews for
4
54
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I arrived in Antigua late at night and all I could find was a horrible hostel, probably the worst of my trip. so first thing in the morning, I set out to finding a better place. When I stepped in Holistico I said "This is the place, I love it". You just know immediately when a place is well kept and the staff pays attention to details. And at this point I didn't even know about the free breakfast (amazing) nor the free rum!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cécile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your amazing review, and you you are welcome any time if you are in Antigua, we did the best and I am so happy that you had fun in our hostel. Regards, Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I traveled to Antigua by myself and stayed at Holistico in May for 5 days, I booked a private room. The Hostel is very clean, it's centrally located, the complementary breakfast options are delicious and everything is homemade. The staff is really attentive and they provide a great customer service. I wouldn't doubt to stay here again if I visit Antigua again.

Room Tip: I advice staying in a private room, they are spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your amazing time to write this review, we do the best every single day here and make happy all the guest. I saw that you really had a good time here. Thanks !!!! sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Holistico. The place is new and very clean. The staff were helpful and very nice and friendly. The price is fair enought because the breakfast is included - you can choose from 6 different breakfasts and coffee, water, juice and tea with small snacks during all day. The hostel has a beautiful terace with the magnific view. Any time I will come back to Antigua, I will stay at this place! And plus there is very well equiped kitchen that you can use during all day. In the dorms were only 4 people so it was quit quite and comfortable. So do not hesitate, this is the best option in town. The price for bed in the dorm was 80 q or 10 USD I guess. It is worthed!

Room Tip: All room are good but try to choose that one which is closed to the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malvinasibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, all you wrote in this review is totally true and I hope that others travelers will come and stay with us and enjoy the amazing services that you describe here. Thanks for take your time and give to as the chance to show you that we do the best. Regards Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Holistico. The staff were welcoming, extremely friendly and very helpful when booking tours/shuttle buses. My friends and I booked our pacaya volcano tour through the hostel and we had a really good guide.

They offer delicious free breakfast (try the pesto egg sandwich) and free snacks, tea, coffee and juice daily which is excellent. You also have access to their kitchen.

The 6 bed dorm my friends and I shared was basic and relatively small; my bed was a little squeeky but otherwise fine. The rooms don't lock but you can keep all your valuables in a locker near reception. The hostel is also locked by a gate at all times so you feel very secure.

They offer cheap laundry services (10q per kilo) and you can hire a towel for 10q. The showers were hot and had good water pressure. There's wifi in the main reception area. We enjoyed a few drinks on the relaxing terrace. The hostel is pretty quiet during the day and there's no bar but you can buy beers - they have 2 for 10q during happy hour. You can also drink your own drinks in there. Outsiders are not allowed into the hostel so if you have friends staying elsewhere they won't be allowed in.

Overall, the hostel was very relaxing, clean and secure with helpful, friendly staff. If you want to party you can walk down the road to bars and other party hostels. Antigua is very small so you can easily walk around the town and go to restaurants and supermarkets from the hostel.

I'd definitely recommend you stay here! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie_r1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

the place is always so clean: the floor, the bathroom, the kitchen... it was great!
its cheap plus breakfast!
the only "bad" thing is that you cant bring visitors at all. its locked all day so it makes you feel secure:)

good wifi and great location!! reccomended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Such a great place, we stayed longer than planned. The owner, Sergio, and all the staff, were extremely accommodating with all of our requests. Kitchen available for use, Hot showers, free breakfast (one of the best I've had in a hostel), snacks laid out all day to pick from, free water and coffee. Sergio puts out a bottle of rum every afternoon for everyone to share. He is also very helpful with planning all your excursions and actually had the best prices too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review and I saw that you enjoyed Holistico. Here our goal is all the time to give our best and as you know and also as you wrote here, we try that everyone have a good fun in Antigua like you had In your own experience. Thanks again , Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
A Place to Stay Hostel
A Place to Stay Hostel
#9 of 105 in Antigua
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 105 in Antigua
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#13 of 105 in Antigua
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
14.6 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 75 in Antigua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mananas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mananas Hotel

Property: Mananas Hotel
Address: 7a Avenida sur 10, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Holistico Hostal)
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing