We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mananas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mananas Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in holistico for 3 nights and then returned again after visiting the lake for another night as we loved it so much! The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the free breakfasts are excellent, and the open bar was always appreciated!

The whole hostel has a really nice vibe and everyone just sits out in the courtyard chatting to each other but is always quiet at night.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Antigua!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clokeacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    45
    11
    11
    14
See reviews for
4
54
123
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

You will understand why this hostel gets the great reviews as soon as you step in. The crew is exceptional, friendly and helping you in any possible way. The whole place is well looked after and the courtyard is great for hanging out and meeting "the family".
Free stuff through out the day, like tee, coffee, cookies, etc. Even cuba libres and beers are free! Really don't know how the owner ends up making money with it, as you get so much more than what you pay for! But he definitely creates an incredible atmosphere which makes people want to stay longer.
The breakfast is as you'd get it in a restaurant.
Eventhough people get together and drink (I'm sure you will have a few drinks ;) ) it's quiet after 10pm at the latest. The beds are comfy, people have been very respectfull while I was there, so great sleep is pretty much guaranteed.

It's a relatively small hostel with 28 beds, but that's the beauty of it.
And when you book, have a look at the specials that Sergio offers every week!

Great value! You will not be disappointed, so try !... unless you are an unfriendly ****, in this case, don't ruin this peace of paradise for others ;) ...

Room Tip: I've stayed in the room next to the reception and there was one little thing that they might hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Loved staying here at Holistico. As with others, I felt the good vibes immediately upon arrival. The staff are amazing. Always there to help you with food, drinks, and travels to new locations. The owners go above and beyond to make sure you have a great time at this hostel. If your looking to relax and have few brews at night, this is the spot. When returning to Holistico before leaving back home, I had a sense of being apart of the Holistico Family. Can't beat the free breakfast and happy hour. Love this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hostel is a must when visiting Antigua. The staff go above and beyond in their efforts to meet your every need. The host (owner) is a fun loving character who is always up to party and provides plenty of advise on tours, getting around town, bars ect. There is a sense of family within the hostel, while still be a suited to a younger crowd. Add to that a free cooked breakfast each morning and free alcohol every night and your onto a winner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

It is not often that you want to stay in a destination longer simply because of your hostel, but this was the case with holistico!
From the moment you enter the front gate, you feel part of the family. Rarely are you given a tour of a hostel, but again this was the case here. Sergio showed us all the important areas of the hostel which made everything so much simpler and was an amazing added touch to our stay. When we encountered a minor hiccup during our stay regarding a tour, the issue was addressed and dealt with more than competently by Sergio.
The rest of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with everything as well.
We can't thank you enough for making our stay in Antigua so fabulous and we can't wait to come back and visit!
We'll be sending everyone your way! Thanks again, Bodie and Sarah

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hostel is wonderful. There's lockers by reception, clean comfy beds, great wifi, a good and clean guest kitchen. One downside was that there aren't enough plugs in the dorm rooms. The free breakfast is from a menu and is amazing! There's also free juice, lollies, biscuits, chips, coffee and rum or her in the evening. All the staff are lovely! The showers are hot and bathrooms are cleaned a few times a day. I would recommend this place over all the other hostels in Antigua. Location is quiet and the atmosphere is great to meet other people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I just came back from a 5 night-stay in Antigua, Guatemala. My entire stay was at Holistico... That alone should say something on its own. I tried the private room and the dorms and was pleased with both options. The place is definitely affordable, clean, conveniently located AND it comes with breakfast and a good one at that. Staff and owner were nice and attentive - They'll help you get yourself orientated, they'll help you booking anything you would like to do or if you are just to chill, they seem just as happy to help you feel at home, away from home. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: The private room (shared bath) at the front, giving on the street, is precious! - Be sure to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Do-Dom-Dodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#22 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#12 of 93 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#3 of 93 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada de San Carlos
Posada de San Carlos
#2 of 93 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mananas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mananas Hotel

Property: Mananas Hotel
Address: 7a Avenida Sur 10, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Holistico Hostal)
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing