We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel”
Review of Mananas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mananas Hotel
Ranked #25 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hostel”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Without doubt this is the best hostel I have ever stayed at; I originally planned to stay two days, and ended up staying three weeks. Travelling solo, on arrival Sergio immediately put a beer in my hand and introduced me to a bunch of travellers sitting in the courtyard. The atmosphere is always relaxed and friendly, Sergio is both hilarious and extremely helpful, all staff are excellent at their jobs, and there is always free tea, coffee, and corn chips and offer.

One of the most impressive things about the place is that while it has a strong social atmosphere, it is also always possible to get a good night's sleep. This is because, while the 10pm 'quiet' policy is enforced, Sergio always makes sure that anyone who wants to have a good time is directed to a nearby bar or dancefloor, generally accompanied by Sergio himself.

If I ever return to Antigua, I would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickJonasFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    45
    11
    12
    14
See reviews for
4
54
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had such a great time at this hostel, recommended by a friend. Everyone staying there was friendly and it was a great place to meet new people. The free breakfast was amazing, and I loved my mornings sitting in the sun eating and chatting to all the other guests!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great location, clean, safe, hot water, decent wifi (but not in the rooms), free drinking water, great free breakfast, music/lights were turned off at 10pm so there wasn't any noisy partying. However, our room was near the front gate which clangs REALLY loud at all hours and the hostel turns on loud Latin music at 7:30am. Also, the girl working at the front desk was really unfriendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank expat_mbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is LONG overdue, as I stayed at Holistico back in October, but it was definitely an experience to remember. Sergio is by far the best hostel owner I met along my travels through Central America, and made me feel so at home! Very accommodating, crazy funny, free drinks, free breakfast, non stop dancing, huge Halloween party.. never a dull moment. His staff were all amazing as well, very attentive, and always cleaning. The terrace upstairs was beautiful, offering great views of Antigua, and a quieter place to read or write, or just relax. I will definitely be staying there again when I get back to Antigua!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Sergio was outstanding!
Very helpfull and funny.
The dorms a clean and it feels very safe.
Great upstair terrese gives you a great view to the surroundings.
My favorite hostel in Antigua. Have tried quite a few now.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan0wich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed four nights at this hostal (double bed with a private bathroom). Sergio, owner, was not in the hostal during our stay because he was out of town. We are a couple of middle age. We booked this place because of good reviews. Our experience is mixed. Good - excellent service by staff (Julio, Claudia, etc). They were very kind, helpful and super. They also let us use their kitchen. On the Valentines day, they gave us two glasses of wine, grapes and candies. How sweet they were! They were very prompt for fixing things when we brought to their attention. Excellent breakfast. There are many choices for breakfast and we enjoyed it much. Bad or areas for improvement - room and bathroom facilities. This hospital might be o.k. with young people using shared bathrooms and showers. However, we were looking for a decent room for sleep and shower. We are very experienced travelers. The first room we stayed at does not have any privacy. The bathroom does not have any windows and has a very thin wall. The shower curtain is too long. After shower, water stayed at the curtain on shower floor. All these create bad smell in the bathroom. Since there is not much air circulation in the bathroom, it smells bad. Since the bathroom's wall is very thin, you can hear all activities and sounds produced by other people from other side of the wall. The room is dark. We switched to another double bed room. This is a much better room with bright sunshine. But it also has its own problems. The bathroom has a thick wall, but does not have windows. Its door does not close, so the smell got into our bedroom. They also installed a long curtain and it produced bad smell after shower. Box spring in our bed was much worn out and I had a backache after sleep. After two days of misery, we brought those problems to hotel staff. To our surprise, hotel fixed many of those problems right away. They replaced a bed box spring. They cut the shower curtain to a proper length, so water does not stay at the curtain. Door was not fixed because they need a carpenter. Window in a bathroom is a structural issue. We learned that we should bring any problem to staff as soon as we found it. If Sergio can address those few problems, Holistico could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-in-Naperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I am currently using Antigua as a base for my travels throught Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras. To date I have spent about 10 nights at Holistico Hostel and have had to pre-book every time because the hostel is always full, but if you turn up without a booking the hostel's owner Sergio goes out of his way to find an alternative for you and will more than likely invite you to join him and the guests for either a free drink or breakfast. Sergio ensures his guests are kept happy by providing free drinks from 6pm when he is on site, until the entire hostel generally goes out for dinner and/or to a club (all noise is stopped before 10pm for those that are getting up early). Breakfast is free and has a choice of 6 options freshly cooked. My personal favorite is the pesto and omelet sandwich, also served with fruit salad. Tea, coffee, juice and snacks are available free all day. The hostel has a great family feel and people tend to return over and over again. Bookings for tours and shuttles can also be booked from here. Do yourself a favor if you are in Antigua and book this very clean and perfectly located hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLMac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
A Place to Stay Hostel
A Place to Stay Hostel
#6 of 105 in Antigua
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#23 of 105 in Antigua
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dionisio Inn
Hotel Dionisio Inn
#55 of 128 in Antigua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Meson de Antigua
El Meson de Antigua
#97 of 128 in Antigua
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 105 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 105 in Antigua
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mananas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mananas Hotel

Property: Mananas Hotel
Address: 7a Avenida sur 10, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Holistico Hostal)
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing