We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel in Antigua”
Review of Mananas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mananas Hotel
Ranked #27 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
2 reviews
“Great Hostel in Antigua”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great hostel located really near the bus station, so great if you get a chicken bus in. The owner of the place was a really nice and friendly guy and really encouraged everybody to socialise.

Would recommend to couples and solo travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    45
    11
    12
    14
See reviews for
4
54
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Every time when i go to Antigua i use Holistico, i prefer the private room, view to the street, or i take the shared ones! all of them friendly people, i like watching tv, some times with bonfire!, the ubication is very close to the arch street, half block from the famous weding cake church of la merced, the yellow church, the church has one of the biggest fountain of central america!

Room Tip: I like the room view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaLandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hostal Holistico. For $10 a night, it was worth every penny. In Antigua, you can pay less, but you can't find another place with this type of atmosphere. Clean, beautiful courtyard and terrace, warm and helpful staff, and snacks out all the time. (I was really grateful for the coffee!)

Also, the hostal was offering a free salsa class to guests, at a nearby bar/restaurant (A la Gran Chapin? or something like that). It was soooo fun!! They teachers were awesome and hilarious, and my group had a blast.

We had a delicious breakfast (I had the pesto egg sandwich), and left feeling very relaxed and recharged. When a member of our group left a skirt in the room, the staff called me immediately and we were able to recover it! Thank you Holistico!

Room Tip: The Chichicastenango dorm has no divide between parts 1 and 2. I would recommend another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our first few nights in Guatemala. Before arriving they were great with reoganising our reservation and shuttle for us when our plane was delayed by a day.
Welcome by Rick was great, he is really friendly and welcoming and it was great to have a group dinner that first evening.
Breakfasts are good and freshly made for you and there is always tea, coffee and filtered water available free of charge.
All common areas were kept beautifully clean by staff. Our private room didn't get cleaned (including bathroom) for the duration of our 3 night stay but it wasn't a problem.
When leaving to go on a 2 day hike, we were able to leave our bags here and return to shower before taking our onward shuttle - really appreciated!
Thanks Holistico and particularly Rick :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Let me start off by saying what a phenomenal stay we had at Holistico! Getting off the plane in Guatemala city my friend and i were beginning to wonder if we had made the right choice traveling in Central America by ourselves. We got on a shuttle and headed for Antigua right away, nervous as to where we were staying and all around jet legged the shuttle driver dropped us off at Holistico. When we walked through the door and were greeted by Rick we were instantly relieved. The hostal was beautiful, it was clean and it had an amazing rooftop view. Once settled into our room we were offered a welcome beer and we instantly felt comfortable again. Rick was such a gem, he took us out to a club our first night and we felt so welcomed. Our biggest mistake was making this our first hostal on the trip, simply because we didn't want to leave and once we did not other hostal compared. We had an amazing trip and attribute a lot of that to Rick, the hostal and the delicious breakfast at Holistico!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GipsyLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our first correspondence from holistic hostel was to provide us a free upgrade, reason is still unknown but we were not complaining! From then onwards it just got better and better. The staff and the hostel manager Rick were amazing and really welcoming. The free breakfast is amazing and you have 5 options to chose from. You also get a free beer or glass of wine on arrival.

Even though its rainy season there was so much to do just walking around the area and you will find unique places to eat and drink. My husband I would have loved to stay longer but we had to continue our travels.

I can't express enough how impressed we were with the cleanliness of the hostel and the hospitality they provided. Top marks!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The staff and owner were really nice. My friend and I stayed during New Year's, and the owner arranged for a group dinner (we didn't know as it was our first night so we went out to eat) and free drinks and fireworks. The room was clean but due to the proximity to the street and lack of insulation, it was rather noisy. There are several hammocks in which you can comfortably swing in, and what seemed to be a small library. There roof terrace was small but cozy, especially at night. You could see the fireworks from there. The bathrooms were communal. It was our first time in a hostel. I was rather startled to learn that they were shared by both men and women. They were fairly clean but seemed to have a tendency to get clogged up as at least one stall seemed to be out of order while we were there. The showers were also fairly clean but getting the right balance between hot and cold water was quite a feat that I did not quite manage. The breakfast was good and the other guests were fun. Finally, the price was right. I would come here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yraela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
A Place to Stay Hostel
A Place to Stay Hostel
#7 of 108 in Antigua
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaval Hostel
Kaval Hostel
#40 of 108 in Antigua
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 108 in Antigua
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mananas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mananas Hotel

Property: Mananas Hotel
Address: 7a Avenida sur 10, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Holistico Hostal)
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing