We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Daniel
Ranked #1 of 130 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had just finished a Habitat for Humanity build, and were thrilled to walk into our spacious and lovely room with a beautiful bathroom. The fresh squeezed orange juice, hot chocolate, croissants and bread were a great start to the day. We were happy to be a little out of the crush of humanity during Semana Santa--a lovely quiet street and a lovely garden to look out on. Daniel is a wonderful host and he and Marleni gave us great suggestions of things to do. We could not have been happier. I have stayed at 2 other places in Antigua, and this is by far the best.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
130
32
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had just finished a Habitat for Humanity build in dry and dusty Rabinal and made our way back to Antigua to be a part of Samana Santa. Our accommodations in Rabinal were very "basic" and when we saw our room at Chez Daniel, thoughts of Shangrila emerged. Spacious, beautifully detailed bathroom with actual hot water; wonderfully comfortable bed with dramatic view of Volcan Agua right out the window;; tasty continental breakfast and the masterful expertise of Marleni, the property's capable concierge. Located on the edge of the city, we could walk everwhere, but enjoyed the quiet of a residentail neighborhood.. Rates are very reasonable so the price/value equation is excellent. We should be so lucky to go back one day and enjoy it again.

Room Tip: Ask for the two upstairs rooms with expansive views of three volcanoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Chez Daniel was one of our favorite finds in Antigua. Friendly hostess and owner with plenty of suggestions for how to enjoy Guatemala. Rooms were very comfortable with quality sheets and comfortable bed. Great little breakfast in the morning with *fresh squeezed orange juice*, coffee to order and croissants. We also bought some eggs and they were happy to make them for us each morning. It is great to have access to a kitchen, pure water, and free internet when you are traveling and Chez Daniel provided all of that in a beautiful garden setting. Liked it so much we stayed there again when I brought my parents to visit. A great hotel for the price too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Traveling alone in Guatemala I wasn't sure how I would fare. I heard about Chez Daniel from other guests I met over dinner, and stayed at Daniel on my return to Antigua a week later. From the beginning I fet at home. I loved my room, and used the shared kitchen for making simple dinners when I didn't want to go out to eat. The neighborhood was quiet and very safe, and Marleni was exceptional in helping me negotiate Antigua and make arrangements for a trip to Lake Atitlan. She also helped me with my rudimentary Spanish with great patience. Daniel provided tips on my trip to Lake Atitlan, and suggested a great local hike that I could do without a guide.

I will return to Guatemala, and when I do, Chez Daniel will be my home base.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel Chez Daniel is an adorable hotel on the outskirts of Antigua. It has a B&B feel, with lots of greenery and plants throughout the property. Upon our arrival, Marleni welcomed us at the door and was very friendly, giving us suggestions on where to go in town for banks/ATMs, travel arrangements/tours, and grocery stores. Our room was on the second level, with a great location for viewing Pacaya volcano. The first day, the volcano was not visible due to the clouds, but on our second day, the clouds disappeared and we had great views of the volcano. Our bathroom was huge and our room had tons of storage (which we didn't end up using, since we packed light and lived out of our luggage). There was a cute little table and four chairs on the porch outside our room, where I camped out with a book one evening to read while facing the volcano. It was relaxing and peaceful.

We appreciated that Chez Daniel provided purified drinking water in the kitchen, which we were free to use. We also liked that we were able to store our water bottles in the fridge and freezer, so we could have cold water for our hike up Pacaya the next day. They also left out warm croissants and coffee for us on the morning when we did the Pacaya hike, since we had to leave before normal breakfast hours. The location of Chez Daniel is about a fifteen minute walk from Antigua's Parque Central, which is partly why I chose this hotel. I liked being a little removed from the center of the city, because I wanted to avoid noisy crowds on the streets during the nighttime. We could still hear pedestrians walking by on the street while we were sleeping, but it wasn't nearly as bad as if we would have stayed closer to the city center.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have great views of Payaca volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LM10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A high class hotel, quiet, 10 minute walk from the center.
Great garden and view if the volcano!
I spent 4 night there, suitable for friends who are not looking to party all the time, families and couples. Very safe.
Simple breakfast included.
Clean, roomy, lovely!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TimiSegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

If I am ever back in Antigua again, I would come back to Chez Daniel. Correspondence for booking and answers to questions via email was very responsive and helpful. We arrived at 11pm at night and someone was there to greet us. We also left at 4:30am and they left out croissant, tea and coffee for us as well as arranging for our transportation. Whatever we needed during our stay they were able to help with including any site-seeing info on Guatemala, a very useful Spanish class, the use of a phone when needed and a map explaining all the highlights to see in Antigua. The website is very accurate as to what you get. Very clean, with lots of space, good beds, great views and sitting areas. I believe there are only 4 rooms so you feel you have the whole place to yourself. The owner and manager are fluent in english. I would think Chez Daniel is much quieter than staying right in town. It is only a 10 minute walk away from the market and 15 minute walk from the main square. A 20Q tuk tuk ride home at night is recommended. Breakfast is orange juice, tea or coffee, bread and croissant with jams. We just bought some fruit at the market to add to our breakfast. All in all a great value for a quiet, very comfortable, well managed place to stay when in Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Property: Chez Daniel
Address: Calle de San Luquitas No. 20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chez Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing