We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar!”
Review of Ocelot

Ocelot
Ranked #102 of 365 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Description: The Ocelot Bar. Its so close to the Parque Central. 32 Seconds walk actually so its very safe and we know all of the good taxi drivers who won't assault or attack you. We love our 5pm till 8pm happy hour everyday and we have the famous burgers & Wings from Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers upstairs. Live music at least 3 times a week. Cocktails & Microbrew beer. The bar owned by Welshman Shaun always attracts its fair share of Guatemaltecos. Shaun kicked out all the sloppy Gringo drunks that used to frequent the place in the early years and its now a really pleasant place to come and listen to great music and meet great people and have a good drink
CST
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Make sure you go for Trivia Night! 7pm. Excellent Welsh owner. Nice suds. The atmosphere is quiet, with great music. For a loud place to drink and dance, check out Rielly's ... but to sit and talk and listen to great music, Ocelot is the 'spot'.....sorry...pun intended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    22
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best Gringo Bar in Antigua Guatemala”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Have checked out a few spots in Antigua for an evening bar. This was by far the best. A very friendly an engaging environm,ent. Sean who owns the bar runs a fun Sunday night trivia quiz. And Sophia who is usually tending bar greets you with the warmest of smiles. My only regret is that I can't head there on next Sunday so easily from my home in New Jersey. Go there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bocho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Unexpected treat”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A friend and I were in Antigua for a week of Spanish Language School aned stopped in at Ocelot for a glass of wine. The owner was Australian (I think) but took the time to come over to chat for a few minutes, and another "regular" customer from Canada also stopped by our table for a short visit. Totally friendly and beyond the call. That's what "customer" service is all about! We would go back in a flash.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VKAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and happy hour”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went to Ocelot without knowing much about it. It is well located, funky little bar right off the main square and walked straight into happy hour which was excellent. We then had some of the famous chicken wings and burgers and liked them so much we came back for another visit during our three days in Antigua.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letitia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for a nightcap”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a hang out for local expats. Fun for a nightcap. The people couldn't have been nicer. Worth a visit and stop next door to buy coffee from the little cafe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocelot also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Ocelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing