We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel la Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel la Catedral
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We recently visited Hotel la Caterdral for 4 nights. There are 8 rooms at this hotel so service is personal and was excellent. Larger windows and fans as previously mentioned would have made our stay slightly more enjoyable but there were a lot of pluses here.

They served a wonderful breakfast every morning which was included in the room price. There were about 10 different choices in the breakfast selection. The location was excellent and the city was so close. The manager arranged tours for us and that was a big help. He also arranged for our transportation to and from the airport in Guatemala City. His English was excellent which helped us some.

I would stay here again. Location and service was 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim4_1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Google Translation
Para el staff de Hotel La Catedral es muy halagador saber gracias a sus comentarios en TA

que su estadía fue placentera y que disfruto tanto de la ubicación como del servicio que se le

brindo, así como de los Tours para visitar nuestro país.

Por favor no dude en buscarnos en su próximo viaje a Guatemala.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    53
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
57
100
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

highly recommend this property- no hesitation at all!

first the negatives, which are not many and quite inconsequential...

room was a bit stuffy- no window- a ceiling fan would have been quite a welcome addition vs. the noisy floor tower fan.

uh- that's about it!


positives... so many!
very nice staff and so helpful.
our flight was cancelled coming down and even though we had a non-refundable rate, the hotel invited us to stay another night on them. very classy and so welcomed after a rough start to our vacation.

room was comfortable and lent to incredible sleeping! can't remember the last time I slept 'in', but the comfy bed, surprisingly quiet room (middle of town!) and pleasant surroundings made relaxing a cinch.

courtyard is quaint and adorable- easy to relax just about anywhere... many small couches with blankets throughout.

breakfast was a delight! very, very good and fresh. delicious.

location is outstanding- can't get much closer to the center of the city.

in all fairness, this is not a luxury hotel- then again, it's Guatemala and there isn't much of those sorts of properties anywhere. it's a bit pricey, but safe, comfortable, charming and homey.

we'd definitely pay a return visit- no doubt about it.
4 1/2 stars, all things considered

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvdirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel La Catedral during your stay in Antigua. We certainly do our best

effort to give our guests comfort and excellent service, but as any other bussines we have our own

policies and rules. Hoping to see you again.

Sincerely,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Prices have risen quite a bit in Antigua-Guatemala this past year, so the $125/night that we paid seems appropriate for the location of this boutique hotel located only 1/2 block from el Parque Centrale.
It is a very nice little hotel with several issues that will keep it from becoming a 5 Star establishment.
As previously mentioned, the location cannot be equalled. The hotel has a rustic charm and the rooms have been updated with flat screen TV's and a modern bathroom. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, and the rooms are averaged sized - but quiet.
Our room [#7 - 1 king size bed] had no window that opened, so we found it humid; our daughter occupied room #5 [2 queen beds] and it had less humidity.
Breakfast was included and was served in the inner courtyard; and the choices were ample and delicious, although the morning sun was a bit intrusive for some.
The hotel has Wi-Fi, and a small bar which served a courtesy drink -although the beer brand was pre-determined, and not one of Guatemala's better beers - which I found a bit cheap on the hotel's part......
The staff was polite and professional. Check in is at 3pm; but we were allowed to enter at 2pm. One caveat is the parking. The hotel has 8 rooms, and probably tight parking for 8 cars - but anyone with a mid-sized SUV will find it difficult to enter the doorway to the parking lot. Once inside the parking lot, someone from the hotel staff must manoeuver the vehicle into the parking space.
One of the problems is that the Hotel also rents out parking space to the public.
Check out is 1pm; if you want to visit Antigua but leave your car in the hotel's parking lot, then you will be charged any time after the 1 pm. When we left at 3h30 pm, we had to pay an extra Q45 - which I found "cheap" on the part of the Hotel, after we had already spent over $250 within a 21 hour period.
It is a beautiful small hotel, tastefully decorated with old charm and with a well maintained centralgarden. A good choice when staying in Antigua.

Room Tip: As rooms are a bit humid, it is best to use the fan to circulate the air. Better to leave the big ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedandDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thanks for choosing Hotel La Catedral during your stay in Antigua. We know you didn't like

everything we offer but believe we did our best!!

Hoping to see you on your next visit to Guatemala.

Best regards,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was excellent on all aspects. Located in the center or Antigua it was easy to walk around and see the amazing market, cathedral, plaza and more. The service was excellent, friendly and respectful. They were very helpful and guided me to purchase the best tours, specially the one to El Tikal. The breackfast were weakly good, healthy! No greasy fried eggs!!!!! The place is beautiful and clean. The rooms are comfortable. I really liked it because it is was reasonably priced and beautiful. I will definitely recommend it and already planing to return next year! Marco in the receptions was an excellent host! Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAM6482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Google Translation
En Hotel La Catedral nos encanta sorprender a nuestros huéspedes con excelente servicio y

por sus amables comentarios en TripAdvisor sabemos que disfruto su descanso y los tours

que le fueron recomendados por nuestro Gerente, así como de nuestros desayunos a la carta.

Esperamos que vuelva a visitarnos!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a charming hotel, small with lovely grounds and outdoor seating in a nice garden! Staff was friendly, room was clean, nice toiletries! Room is a little dark, but very nice. Breakfast was very, very good and everyone so friendly. Location is super. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColibriSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Google Translation
Para el staff de Hotel La Catedral es muy halagador saber por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor

que su estadía con nosotros fue agradable, que disfrutaron nuestras instalaciones y que en

todo momento estuvieron bien atendidos. Por favor no duden en volver!!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel, when we visited Antigua for a wedding and didn't want to leave. Great location, near everything. The staff is wonderful, especially Marco. We had a very small room due to it being the last available when we booked but it was still nice and cosy. The garden in the center is lovely and very relaxing to sit in after a day of walking. WIFI was free and connection great. We found out, on our third day there, that calls to USA were also free. This was very useful to call home to check in on family members during the Feb 14,snow storm. Really liked this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street but it was still very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDublingirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Google Translation
Nos sentimos muy halagados de saber por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor que en Hotel

La Catedral hemos llenado sus expectativas en cuanto a servicio y confort.

Esperamos tenerlos nuevamente como huéspedes en un futuro viaje a la Antigua Guatemala.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at hotel la Catedral for one night when returning from a trip to Livingston and after a long bus ride, we were delighted to find that the hotel has one of those lovely courtyard gardens that lurk behind many a closed door in Antigua. This one is exceptionally beautiful. Fountains, manicured gardens, artwork in heavy carved frames, niches with statuary all surrounded by covered stone patio with tables and comfy chairs, including warm blankets for chilly evenings, it's so inviting to sit and relax. The hotel is ideally located, just a block from the Central Park and the cathedral.

We were greeted by a friendly concierge who speaks English and a lovely young women who escorted us to our room off the courtyard. The room was also a delight, with a king size bed with an elegant half-canopy and brocaded comforter and beautiful bathroom with vessel sink and rain shower. The only downside was the inexplicable lack of a bath mat. Everything else was perfect.

After settling in, we were given a very large and very welcome glass of wine, complements of the management, which we drank while admiring the gardens. Pure bliss. A full breakfast, included in the $125 price of the room, was served under the portico overlooking the sunny garden. The whole experience was wonderful and we almost hated to leave. We would certainly recommend this hotel as a convenient and romantic place to stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Google Translation
Este comentario es como de alguien que escribe poesía!! Gracias a TripAdvisor sabemos

que disfruto mucho su estancia en Hotel La Catedral.

Por favor en su próxima visita a la Antigua Guatemala necesitamos que vuelva a hospedarse

con nosotros y nos de nuevamente la oportunidad de servirla como se merece!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#11 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Catedral

Property: Hotel la Catedral
Address: 4ta. Avenida sur # 4 | La Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Catedral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Catedral is an authentic Spanish Colonial house, originally built as part of the "Palacio de los Capitanes Generales" in the center of Antigua, Guatemala. Its construction began in 1558. The space was rebuilt in 1754 and it was used as the residence of the General Capitan. The hotel is located one block from the Central Park and the Cathedral (Catedral de Santiago). It is within a minute or two walking distance from many restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and Spanish Colonial ruins. As one of the original structures in Antigua, Hotel La Catedral preserves its charm and elegance and it has been completely restored to bring you all the comfort and rest you're looking for during your stay. It has a very cozy and romantic environment, just like Antigua itself. The hotel has 8 rooms with a King Size bed or with two Full Size beds. Each room individually decorated to give you a slightly different feel each time you visit us. All of them are equipped with Flat Panel TV set, DVD Player, Cable TV, Security Box, Wireless Internet (at no additional cost), telephone and alarm clock. All bathrooms are stylishly and individually designed with antique marble. All toiletries and hair dryer also included. All our rates include, Full a La Carte Breakfast, free international calls to designated countries (time limited) and private parking in the same location. In the same facilities we have an equipped private meeting room and a Family Lounge-Bar. We also organize and coordinate your Tour needing's to any other beautiful destinations as well as transportation from and to Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing