We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ~ Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel la Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Catedral
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Antigua (with another couple) and chose this hotel based on other reviews. We were NOT dissappointed!! This hotel was perfect in every way. The staff was extremely friendly and always ready to help in any way. The location is great since it is less than a block from the main square. Our room was on the street side, yet was surprisingly quiet. Everywhere in the hotel was kept spotless, and the courtyard is like a small piece of paradise. Beautiful flowers and plants surround the courtyard. The breakfast (included in the price) was always delicious and the little lounge serves the BEST margaritas in Antigua. We always felt very safe here, also, as the gate going in to the hotel is locked at all times and must be unlocked from inside by the staff (and someone is at the desk at all times). I would not hesitate to stay here again on any future trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwmort55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013
Google Translation

El personal de Hotel La Catedral esta muy satisfecho de saber que su estadia con nosotros fue

satisfactoria y placentera.

Gracias a Tripadvisor sabemos que hemos llenado sus espectativas! Esperamos poder servirlos

en futuras oportunidades.

Atentamente,

Marina S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Hotel la Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I knew this was going to be a nice hotel from the website/reviews but I was pleasantly surprised that it was even nicer in person. The rooms are stylish yet comfortable and only one block from the main square. While it's close to most attractions/restaurants, it's quite and peaceful in the hotel. The communal areas are nicely decorated in a open-air setting and the breakfast was delicious. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Everything was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbooker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013
Google Translation

Es personal de Hotel La Catedral esta muy satisfecho de saber que su estadia con nosotros

fue satisfactoria y placentera.

Gracias a Tripadvisor sabemos que hemos llenado sus espectativas y esperamos poder servirlos

en el futuro.

Atentamente,

Marina S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just returned from a week in Guatemala. My week began in Antigua at La Catedral. I had researched the hotel well and was influenced by the reviews and my daughter and son-in-law who stayed there to book a room. When I saw the hotel I knew I had made the right choice. I had a lovely room (one of the 8 rooms available) which was a nice size and traditionally decorated. As I exited my room I entered a courtyard filled with beautiful flowers, wonderful seating arrangements (to relax and have a drink) and an area for breakfast (included in the price.) My companion and I sat in the courtyard at night chatting and enjoying a drink. The breakfast was delicious and filling. The location again is a plus. It is near the Central Park and it was easy to find your way around from this spot. The staff are also wonderful - welcoming and helpful at all times. From now on when I travel to Antigua I will be staying at La Catedral.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugsueToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCatedral, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias a TripAdvisor que es nuestra mejor herramienta de promoción ustedes supieron de nosotros.
Tenemos es cierto una muy buena ubicación ya que estamos cerca de todos los puntos mas importantes en Antigua, pero nos complace mucho saber que fueron bien atendidos por el personal
del Hotel, que tuvieron un buen descanso y una buena experiencia con nosotros. También nos agrada saber que disfrutaron el jardín y nuestro bar VIP. Esperamos que vuelvan pronto.
Atentamente,
Marina Santano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place turned out to be even better than I expected after reading positive reviews prior to booking. Very cozy and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom well equipped and clean. Good size room. Best of all, you can step right out of the room into the lovely lush green courtyard. Also, more seating outside each room to relax and listen to birds while sipping on a cocktail. The hotel does have a small bar. Breakfast each morning was different and tasty. Service was excellent.

The location is central...<1 minute walk to the town square and shops. But you don't hear any noise when inside the hotel...

All in all, I think this hotel perfectly represents the charm of Antigua. And great value too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCatedral, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias a TripAdvisor que es nuestra mejor herramienta de promoción ustedes supieron de nosotros.
Tenemos es cierto una muy buena ubicación ya que estamos cerca de todos los puntos mas importantes en Antigua, pero nos complace mucho saber que fueron bien atendidos por el personal
del Hotel, que tuvieron un buen descanso y una buena experiencia con nosotros. l Esperamos que vuelvan pronto. Los esperamos.
Atentamente,
Marina Santano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I have been to Guatemala four times in the last few years. We have always stopped in Antigua for a couple of nights at the end of a volunteer trip. We decided to try a new hotel this time - Hotel la Catedral. What a great find! This is a small - 8 rooms - boutique hotel that's a block or so from the central plaza; a great location. We had a beautiful room over looking the courtyard; well equipped, well maintained and very clean. The room rate was very reasonable, service was very friendly and courteous. We will definitely be back! Totally recommend Hotel la Catedral!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCatedral, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias a TripAdvisor que es nuestra mejor herramienta de promoción ustedes supieron de nosotros.
Tenemos es cierto una muy buena ubicación ya que estamos cerca de todos los puntos mas importantes en Antigua, pero nos complace mucho saber que fueron bien atendidos por el personal
del Hotel, que tuvieron un buen descanso y una buena experiencia con nosotros. l Esperamos que vuelvan pronto. Los esperamos.
Atentamente,
Marina Santano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

You wouldn't know it from the outside but this hotel is, put really simply, very very nice.

The hotel was originally the home of a the hotel owner. From what I picked up in a brief conversation with the manager Marco it sounds like the owner was actually born in the house.

The hotel manages to blend an the original homeliness of the family home with the comforts and standards expected in a high end hotel.

We were greeted on arrival with complimentary welcome drinks which we enjoyed on the veranda lounge looking into the traditional Casa court yard. Marco the manager then showed us to our rooms and gave us a bit of an intro to some of the usual stuff.

My rooms was #4. It was larger that I expected. The window opened straight onto the street but once the wooden shutter was closed I felt as secure as I would in a castle.

The hotel had free wifi. I was travelling with a companion who was in room 6. He had a strong wifi signal in his room. I had none - unless I stood in the room entry. I had to sit out in the courtyard to get the Internet on my device. Not the worse thing in the world I guess - and it is a problem that is common in even the best city business hotels. (I asked for a room change in a high cost Rui Plaza in Panama City because the wifi signal was too weak to maintain a solid connection - unforgivable in a CBD Business hotel)

The staff were incredibly good, made great restaurant recommendations and were more than happy to take the time to explain the history and significance of some of the towns historic icons to us when asked.

It's also really well located near the town square. Easy walk to everything.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCatedral, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias a TripAdvisor que es nuestra mejor herramienta de promoción ustedes supieron de nosotros.
Tenemos es cierto una muy buena ubicación ya que estamos cerca de todos los puntos mas importantes en Antigua, pero nos complace mucho saber que fueron bien atendidos por el personal
del Hotel, que tuvieron un buen descanso y una buena experiencia con nosotros. Hemos tratado que el WiFi funcione bien en todas las habitaciones pero las paredes son demasiados gruesas y por esa razón obstruye la senal. Esperamos que vuelvan pronto. Los esperamos.
Atentamente,
Marina Santano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay. Staff was great. Made to order breakfast was good. Loved the king bed after sleeping on a bed a bit bigger then a twin with hubby for ten days. Location was ideal for walking all over Antiqua. Loved the ruins at the cathedral in the plaza.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teacup95603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013
Google Translation

Estimados Huespedes:

Nos alegra que nuestra ubicacion les haya ayudado a disfrutar aun mas su estadia en el Hotel La
Catedral.

Para nuestro Staff fue un gusto atenderlos y todos esperamos que vuelvan pronto, si ademas nos pueden traer esta respuesta impresa, el Hotel los invitara a una botella de vino tinto o blanco para que la disfruten en el area de su predileccion.

Atentamente,

Marina S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Catedral

Address: 4ta. Avenida sur # 4 | La Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $109 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Catedral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Catedral is an authentic Spanish Colonial house, originally built as part of the "Palacio de los Capitanes Generales" in the center of Antigua, Guatemala. Its construction began in 1558. The space was rebuilt in 1754 and it was used as the residence of the General Capitan. The hotel is located one block from the Central Park and the Cathedral (Catedral de Santiago). It is within a minute or two walking distance from many restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and Spanish Colonial ruins. As one of the original structures in Antigua, Hotel La Catedral preserves its charm and elegance and it has been completely restored to bring you all the comfort and rest you're looking for during your stay. It has a very cozy and romantic environment, just like Antigua itself. The hotel has 8 rooms with a King Size bed or with two Full Size beds. Each room individually decorated to give you a slightly different feel each time you visit us. All of them are equipped with Flat Panel TV set, DVD Player, Cable TV, Security Box, Wireless Internet (at no additional cost), telephone and alarm clock. All bathrooms are stylishly and individually designed with antique marble. All toiletries and hair dryer also included. All our rates include, Full a La Carte Breakfast, free international calls to designated countries (time limited) and private parking in the same location. In the same facilities we have an equipped private meeting room and a Family Lounge-Bar. We also organize and coordinate your Tour needing's to any other beautiful destinations as well as transportation from and to Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing