We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Guatemalan food on our last night in the country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Don Martin

Restaurante Don Martin
Ranked #131 of 345 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, International, French, Guatemalan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Romantic place whit candle light, whit Typical Guatemalan and International menu.
Madrid
Level Contributor
550 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“great Guatemalan food on our last night in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you want to dine and have Guatemalan food (and I´m not talking about having pollo campero) in Antigua, this is the place to go to. The restaurant is only open in the evening, and has an international menu as well, but we prefer to eat the local stuff. The evening we went, we were the only guests and so, we could talk a long time with the owner-server, about typical Guatemalan ingredients and dishes. We loved it, both the food and the conversation. Try the salad of mango verde (brilliant!) as a starter. I had duck as a main dish and found out that it is indeed a regional dish you won´t find that often anymore. The main dish my husband choose (subarix) was a typical dish for weddings in the country!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place regular food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The atmosphere of this place is nice and romantic, if you don't mind to seat in plastic chairs, you will love the restaurant. The food is not exactly the same. Looks improvised, "natural" drinks tastes artificial. Not good food at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ordonezpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Don Martin is a little walk from Central Antigua.

Its a smal and quaint restaurant, nicely decorated.

Service is superb. The owner provides personal service
to each client.

The food was good but not great. My steak was good
but not tender as others I have tried. I{m not sure if it was
the cut of beef or how it was prepared.

The fish was good.

We will return and try other items on the menu.

Prices are very good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Axal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went here on the basis of recommendations on tripadviser and was not disappointed. The food was excellent, the service was great and the bill was reasonable. The restaurant is a little bit away from the central bar, restaurant district but two blocks isn't too far to walk for a good meal. If your in Antigua it should be on your list of places to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drm378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wow, the best meal in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I happened to read the review the last day in Antigua. I wish i had read it the first! What a great dinner we had.
The ingredients are the freshest , the food creative and just incredibly delicious. The restaurant is decorated in such an interesting fashion. The chef trained in New Orleans and brings some of his favorite dishes to his menu. He made us a bananas foster for dessert to die for¡ don't miss this restaurant when you go to Antigua, you will really enjoy the whole experience

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mahopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Don Martin also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Restaurante Don Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing