We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tartines

Tartines
Ranked #44 of 344 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average at best!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The best thing about Tartines was the terrace view of the ruins.

The steak was tough even though cooked to order. The pepper
sauce was good but that couldn{t make up for the pverall value of
the steak.

The panini was boring, bland....not at all a good quality experience
especially for the price.

Service was good but not friendly.

Overall we were disappointed even though we had looked forward to
going there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    87
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Overlooks the ruins of a church. We visited twice while vacationing for 2 weeks here. Great salad guacamole dressing on my salad. Very good steak with pepper sauce. The french fries are terrific. Four of us shared a Nutela crepe - it was huge and so very good! Strong American coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

A bit pricy, but an excellent choice!
The food quality is superb, with attention to detail both in flavour and plating.
One of the best places to eat in Antigua, and I've been to quite a few of them.

Helpful?
Thank elabbemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Delicious food that results in food poisoning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am so sad to write this review. We had an excellent experience at Tartines. The service was fantastic. The place was charming. The French Onion Soup was delicious and perfect after a long hike on a volcano. The panini was flavorful and filling, and the side salad was delightful. The wine was top notch.

After a very satisfying dinner, we returned to our hotel. About two hours after dinner, the worst bout of food poisoning I've had in ages began and didn't stop for 24 hours. I've been to Antigua many times, and even lived here for a month, so I'm very comfortable eating food and have never been sick here so this was a huge surprise.

We tried to figure out why I got sick, while my husband did not. The only difference in our meals was that I ate the salad and he got french fries instead. So it must have been something with the fresh veggies. My recommendation is that if you go, make sure not to eat anything raw like salad. Such as shame since this meal ruined the last half of our trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The terrace view is fantastic.

The rest we found uninspring. The french onion soup
was the best item which we enkoyed very much. The sandwiches
are average at best. The steak was not tender whatsoever and the
pepper sauce was bland.

Service was good.

Prices are good for the menu selection.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lester A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartines also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Tartines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing