We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwich I have ever eaten!”
Review of Sobremesa

Sobremesa
Ranked #23 of 377 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We believe in serving you dishes that more than just delicious, they are something you've never had before and will never have anywhere else. They are new, original, and out of the ordinary because, as an art gallery restaurant, we want you to enjoy not just art that you can see and hear, but taste as well. #algodiferente #sobremesa
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ate here for lunch with 5 friends. Best food we have had in Guatemala and definitely the best croque madam I have ever eaten (even in all of Europe). This is a must-stop restaurant when you are in Antigua. The ice cream is also to die for. Cannot go wrong here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MC038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcookUnicorns, Owner at Sobremesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Sobremesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 505 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Sobremesa. The food definitely hit the spot after a long day of walking around the city. The location is unbeatable as well, just steps from the Parque Central. The owner is VERY friendly and is willing to explain the menu as well as entertain you throughout your meal. The pizza was delicious, I'd recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tommydphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcookUnicorns, Owner at Sobremesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you! I'm giving some thought to being less friendly, though, for variety's sake. Some days I think I'll be a sourpuss...or maybe a curmudgeon. Other days I'll be affectedly aloof. Maybe on Tuesdays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great food, cozy atmosphere and excellent service. I couldn't help but purchase a beautiful small painting while we were there. This is not a place to miss in your travels!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcookUnicorns, Owner at Sobremesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal and I am happy that painting has gone to a good home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped by this place for a quick lunch. My stomach was feeling a bit queasy all morning, so I needed something that would settle it. I opted for the Clasico Pizza and it hit the spot. Not too greasy. Tasted home-made. The space was nice and the owner was friendly. I would recommend the food and would probably go back there again, but I must admit that the artwork creeped me out a bit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trailblazer119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcookUnicorns, Owner at Sobremesa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Do you ever think about what the consequences of your review might be? Do you ever think, even though the pizza "hit the spot" and "the space was nice and the owner was friendly" I'm going to single-handedly drive away all possible Tripadvisor traffic with a small remark like "the artwork creeped me out a bit"? Was there anything on the walls by HR Giger or Damien Hirst? No. There's a painting of Jesus looking down on Jerusalem. There are a handful of tasteful nudes. There are some portraits of Mayans. Some flowers. And a man who puts his heart and soul into his business every day of his life, and with a careless remark you have just given people a reason to never set foot in my place and find out why 95 people rated it Excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Great place for a quick lunch. Pizza was nice and staff were friendly. Spoke with Alex and was glad to hear that our leftovers were given to the homeless as we didn't want to take them. Won't be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anhemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcookUnicorns, Owner at Sobremesa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you, we are glad you liked it! And the woman who ate the rest of your pizza was very happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sobremesa also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Sobremesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing