We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff at a very conveniently located hotel!”
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D'Leyenda Hotel
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff at a very conveniently located hotel!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here on three separate nights during our 2 week stay in Guatemala. Every staff member is so friendly and courteous. They are caring and provide service at the top end of excellent. We would stay again simply because of the staff.
The hotel is very conveniently located about 20 steps from the main square. It is safe even after dark and very secure. The rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. Rooms and common areas are very nicely decorated. Roof top terrace was a great place to enjoy breakfast with an excellent fruit plate, bread (and cookies) and lots of coffee.
The bar next door creates a bit of noise but we found it subsided around 11:30 to 12. Otherwise the rooms are quiet.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank You very Much for your such a great comment, that motivates us to keep growing, and to improve our service.

Best Regards,
D`Leyenda Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    85
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
64
223
53
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff here were so helpful and courteous, the hotel is centrally located and rooms very comfortable. However we arrived late on a Saturday evening after a long flight and the music was blasting from the bar next door, this continued until well after 1am. Our breakfast on Sunday was delicious-the staff proudly told us it was a local breakfast, but we soon realised this was only served on a Sunday, on the other mornings there was no choice and when we asked for eggs we were told we could only have fruit and waffles, we did manage to persuade the staff to give us bread. My advise is find somewhere else to stay if you can especially on a Friday or Saturday night.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Libby1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We appreciate your comment because as we have mentioned, it helps us continue growing up as one of the most popular hotels in La Antigua Guatemala. However, we would like to clarify that as a courtesy, we offer traditional breakfast for our guests only on Sunday mornings. Whenever we get a new reservation, we let our guests know that Continental breakfast will be included, which is always served with the best quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Spent a few nights here for a long weekend in Antigua. This hotel is just off the main square. There are only 6 rooms here and breakfast can be served on the terrace overlooking the city and the volcano. There is a lively bar next door but it did not keep me awake at night. The staff was top notch and spoke very good English. They recommended restaurants and excursions for our time there. I would definitely go back to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Each room is named after a different local legend and some have fire places. Otherwise, they are ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Ronnie Holuby

thank you very much for your nice comment that motivates us to try to be better every day. And motivates us to provide a better service to our guests.



Kind Regards,

D'Leyenda Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I recently spent three nights at D'Leyenda and cannot think of enough positive things to say about this hotel. The staff is simply amazing and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was memorable. They really made us feel like part of the family. The hotel has an ideal location steps away from the main square and within easy walking distance of all the sights in this historic city. There are also a number of places to eat in the vicinity. The rooms are beautiful and all centered around a lovely courtyard. They are spacious, spotless and nicely equipped with furniture and decor that match the colonial look of Antigua. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the rooftop terrace which has fantastic views over the old city and the nearby volcano. Breakfast itself was varied and delicious! I certainly hope I have the opportunity to stay at D'Leyenda again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The staff at the hotel was extremely courteous and gracious. Due to my airlines's fault, my connection was missed and I arrived in Guatemala a day later than planned. Even though almost any other hotel would have charged me for the night, D'Leyenda did not. My only complaint is that it can get quite noisy as there is a bar nearby so I would bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

my wife and i spent three nights at this little gem in antigua. this was probably the best place we stayed in during our month long honeymoon in central america! great location, amazing view for breakfast, different hand written notes each day our room was turned over (eg. 'have a nice day'), clean well appointed rooms all for a reasonable pricetag. the most credit has to go to the staff though. everyone was super friendly and managed to make us feel like the only people in the hotel. thankyou for making our visit to antigua all the more memorable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

By naming each room D'Leyenda truly cares for the guest and hotel. My daughter and I stayed in El Carreton and La Tatuana and enjoyed learning about these mythical tales.
Due to Guatemala's humidity one would be accustomed to almost wet, cold sheets yet D'Leyenda's sheets were thick, dry and most comfortable.
We want to thank Jose (my daughter was taken by him) for offering to pack our breakfast when leaving for Volcan Pacaya at 6am (unlike hotels that say unless you are present at a certain time you lose out on breakfast). In general Japanese are known to have the best hospitality/customer service, however D'Leyenda proved us wrong. Rosario's gesture was the most touching, we asked for the nearest fruit market and she walked us all the way into the market on her way home! We also want to thank Alvaro for his initial e-mail correspondence and professionalism during our stay.
Thank you all for continuing to speak Spanish as my daughter practiced!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumiko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 75 in Antigua
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#16 of 75 in Antigua
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#28 of 75 in Antigua
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Property: D'Leyenda Hotel
Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Leyenda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala"Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua's colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing