We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and lovely breakfast in perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
D'Leyenda Hotel
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and lovely breakfast in perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and enjoyed being right off the Central Park and so close to all of the sights. The room is not large but it was enough space for two nights. We had nice hot water and great water pressure. Breakfast was really enjoyable on the rooftop terrace overlooking the park. Staff is friendly and helpful. The front door is a locked gate so it was very secure.

I did knock it down one star for two reasons. One - we asked the front desk to arrange a shuttle to Pana for the next morning to leave at 9 am. The next morning at 8:30 the other front desk person said that the shuttle was canceled. That can't be true because there are tons of shuttles at that time to Pana. I had her call other places and they were full so we had to leave at noon. It worked out fine but this was really stressful. In hindsight I should have just booked the shuttle myself. Second - they do not accept travelers checks and charge a high fee for a credit card. I had to run to the bank to exchange money and we didn't have much time.

Room Tip: the rooms with two beds are MUCH bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripgal926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    79
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
211
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights around the Christmas holiday. It is a beautiful property in an ideal location. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If I ever come back to Antigua, this is the first hotel I will consider staying at.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EpiTheConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in total - spread over in 3 weeks using it as a base. The hotel location is excellent - extremely close to Central Park. The room we stayed in was small but very clean - but they have other larger rooms. The hotel is gorgeous set around a small courtyard- and sitting on the terrace having breakfast with the volcano in full view was fantastic. The staff even offered us a packed breakfast when we had 2 very early starts.

The only downside and that is why I am giving the hotel 4 stars is that before coming to Guatemala I had wanted information on how to get to Flores and even though the girl who responded said she would get back to me she was not very helpful and did not give me the information I requested. In the end I contacted a local agent. Also we had booked a private airport transfer for the day after we arrived and the receptionist was quite inflexible about changing the times of the private airport transfer (saying her colleague had arranged it) and it was only after I was insistent that the receptionist changed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londongirl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Gerente at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comment on TripAdvisor.

We regret the inconvenience about tours and transfers, it was not our intention to be wrong with you, but we are an intermediary for the service and the agency often makes some unexpected changes.

It was an honor to have you as our guest and look forward to the opportunity to serve again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, SF, Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My bf and I loved staying here! Everything is new and clean but still has the old world charm. Lovely little hotel with very attentive and friendly staff. Having breakfast on the terrace w the view of the volcano was my favorite part. Right near the center of town, really convenient location. There's a popular bar right next door so it's not absolutely quiet (think it was someone's birthday the first night we stayed) but it is still absolutely my favorite hotel in Antigua! Will come back to stay again, highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank three_chicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ths is a very inconspicuous hotel from the outside but is charming inside. Security is very good. It is very close to the main square. The staff were excellent.Breakfast on the roof terrace looking towards the volcano was special. The rooms are quiet and cool, around a small courtyard. The only down side is the bar next door which can be a little noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mav10Aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been coming to Antigua every year for the last 20+ years. I've had the privilege of staying in many of the top hotels in the city - and there are some beauties. D'Leyenda has become one of my new favorites! I almost missed it because I couldn't believe that it would be so close to the central park - you walk out of the front gate and you're within 50 steps of the heart of Antigua! They staff is so friendly and courteous. The main gate is always locked and they hold your room key anytime you leave, which adds to the safety and security of the hotel. There aren't many rooms, but that's the appeal of it - small, cozy, and definitely "boutique." For being so centrally located, the price just cannot be beat! For a really romantic getaway, make sure to request "La Tatuana" as it offers a comfortable king-sized bed with fireplace and bathtub. They'll even come and light the fire for you; a very nice touch. The rooftop terrace offers incredible views of Volcan Agua while enjoying an evening drink or morning snack. They also have a hot-tub and lounge chairs in case you're just looking to relax. The only concern for some might be the noise level on certain nights...there is in fact a bar next door that turns up the volume on their music at night, but it wasn't bothersome enough to make the stay unpleasant. If you're looking for a unique hotel that won't break the bank and is within steps of all the action, do not miss D'Leyenda!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skydiver17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We love Antigua, and with the help of Tripadvisor, found a new place to stay during our recent stay...the D'Leyenda Hotel. In the past we've stayed at The Cloisters, but that owner sold it and it is now owned by a private party and not operated as a hotel. So we're so happy we found it. From our first contact with them via email, we knew it would be a special place. They have an excellent website and we used that to pick out the exact room we wanted...La Llorona. They have 8 rooms, each different in a way and based on a legend in Guatemala, and each with different bed combinations. If you're looking for two queen size beds, La Llorona is for you. It seemed to us to have a little extra space and that was nice as well.
One of the best things about D'Layenda (and there are many) is its location. It is right off the square downtown in the middle of all the culture, shopping, churches, govt. offices, and of course charming central plaza. We just loved leaving the place and in literally 30 or 40 steps being in the plaza! The owners have done a beautiful job creating D'Layenda...down to every little detail. It reminded us of some of the finer boutique hotels in the USA you find these days.
We were also impressed with the staff. They are very attentive...especially those at the front desk,Andrea, Rene, Leonardo, and Mary and the maids as well, Carmen and Maria. They are kind, considerate and willing to do the little things that make a stay so enjoyable.
The breakfasts are continental and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
14.3 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#5 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#3 of 80 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Property: D'Leyenda Hotel
Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Leyenda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala"Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua's colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing